Elsye's Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Pretty dang delicious! I am a total chocoholic, though, and after reading past reviews I added an extra heaping tablespoon of cocoa powder and a couple squirts extra syrup (I had a bottle, not a can). I also put the chocolate chips in the brownies and skipped the frosting. the result was super fudgey and chocolatey! Thanks for a great basic recipe- perfect for experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Hmm...ok. I'm the "baker" of the family and am always cooking one thing or another. I like to use homemade recipies because those have no hydrogenated oil. Even though I'm a teenager, I've made a lot of brownies and I followed this recipe to the letter. (I ommited the frosting entirely, though.) The brownies were good, but I recommend less butter (it didn't blend well), and less sugar. The mix was thin and resembled a cake more. I added melted marshmellows and that improved the flavor a ton (: hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
batter is very thin ie 1 1/2 cup of fluid to 2cup solid is very poor ratio for brownies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I did not caref or these brownies. the bottom was runny the top was burnt and the chocolate on top goes all runny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by young-cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
An 80 year old friend of mine explained that she never made homemade brownies after the invention of boxed brownies because homemade never seemed to turn out as good. I have to agree with her on this sentiment to date. I found this recipe kind of dull - not chocolaty enough and the icing was just sweet. I will continue to search for a perfect homemade brownie none-the-less. It is a super easy recipe (in defense) and likable enough to prepare as a last minute desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Tasty and simple. Made them to go with lunch one day and they went over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
sorry did not care for them. I made the recipe just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
It was more like cake than a brownie. It was not chocolately enough and the sugar did not dissolve well in the icing, even though I left the icing on the heat longer than I would have otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Love these brownies. The frosting seems to turn grainy or sugary. I did exactly as the recipes called for and frosted the brownies while they were still warm but it still turned grainy. My aunt's recipe called for 1 c. sugar insteadof 1 1/4c. plus 8 large marshmellows(1 large =8 mini's) and boil 1 minute instead of 3 minutes and then on low till marshmellows melt. I think the boiling three minutes turns it too grainy. Add the marshmellows with the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Almost everyone loved these and they were SUPER easy to make. I think I'll use less sugar next time but then again perhaps because I used Betty Crocker Chocholate Frosting in lieu of the can of chocholate syrup...I did lessen the white sugar to 1/2 a cup or so though. Still, it turned out like a nice, light sweet cake (not quite a brownie tho)...not very chocolatey (i'll add more chocholate chips next time)...I cut them into bite sized pieces and ended up eating 1/2 the cake by myself while watching tv. egads! dangerous....but basically foolproof, yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States