Elsye's Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I brought this in for my 7th grade FACS class. We had a ton of fun making it, and it turned out great! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
These aren't the best brownies, but they are still pretty good. They have the consistency of cake, but other than that, I liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This was okay. Maybe it would have been better had I not substituted more chocolate syrup for the cup of sugar. The texture was less brownie-like and more fluffy, but not cake-like. And b/c of the substitution, it wasn't too sweet, which I did like. A good complement to ice cream or something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Chose this brownie recipe over the others because i already had all the ingredients. Once i read the review about it being cake-like, i followed one of the reviewers suggestions (drkauffman) for a chewier version which were: 1) less butter, I would use a half cup instead of a whole. I drained about 4 TBSP off after baking with the original amount. 2) less eggs, with all the reviews saying they were cake like I used only 3 eggs. 3) substitute 1/2 cup brown sugar for that gooey moistness most are looking for in a brownie. After these changes I came out with a better final product. I also omitted the frosting and added the chocolate chips right to the batter. It was still too cake-like for a brownie, but the flavor was pretty good. For those of you looking for a true, chewy brownie, look else where
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
The brownies turned out better with a little help: 1) less butter, I would use a half cup instead of a whole. I drained about 4 TBSP off after baking with the original amount. 2) less eggs, with all the reviews saying they were cake like I used only 3 eggs. 3) substitute 1/2 cup brown sugar for that gooey moistness most are looking for in a brownie. After these changes I came out with a better final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Very cakelike... Not bad, but not what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
These are just not brownies. To me brownies are chewy on the bottom,and crispy on the top. Brownies taste like chocolate. These are squishy all the way through, and they taste like sugar. I am disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by envysion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
These were a major hit at my sister's birthday party. Absolutely delicious. They can be a bit rich but if you tone down the amount of chocolate (or maybe it's because mine was dark) it should be excellent, but I think they are already magnificent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowshanti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
it so nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States