Ellen's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ellenmoriah
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is my recipe, and I'm glad so many of you have enjoyed it. A couple comments after reading your reviews: substituting an ingredient within the sauce will change the character of the dish. The orange juice mixed with white wine, tomatoes, and rosemary is what gives this dish a different taste than other Cacciatore recipes. This is not intended to be a thick "hearty" sauce. Feel free to add some tomato paste to give it a little body, but it's meant to be a "runny" sauce. The pasta or rice will soak some of it up, but it's a good idea to have a nice loaf of bread to dip in the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This is a fabulous recipe and so easy to make. Thanks for sharing, Ellen. The only change I made was to use dry Marsala instead of white wine and I thickened with a roux at the end. We had it with whole grain rice with parmesan cheese and it was absolutely delicious. This will become a regular in our house too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This recipe was fantastic - although a bit heavy on the rosemary for me - I think 2 teaspoons would be sufficient. I let the sauce reduce for a bit, then served it with bow-tie pasta, broccoli, Italian bread, & a nice salad. Will definitely be serving this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
this was very good. the wine is important. i didn't have orange juice so didn't use that. i did add a bit of thyme and 4S seasoning and Lawry's seasoned pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Thank you for the recipe. It was delicious! I saved the leftover sauce in the fridge overnight. The next night, I combined it with a large can of chicken broth, brought it to boil, added half a package of spaggetti, cooked until done and served it up in bowls with wedges of fresh lemon squeezed over the top. It was the easiest and best tasting soup EVER! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is #$^!@#%$ amazing. Had to use thyme because I didn't have rosemary, but followed the recipe exactly otherwise, and it was delicious. Worked great with polenta and parmesan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I got some chicken thighs on sale and looked here for a different recipe on cooking them . I thought this recipe looked good and tried it . WOW ! It was not only easy and quick , but so delicious . We put it over a bed of long grain rice . the only thing I added was 1/2 tsp of tyme . I shared 1/2 of it with my brother and his wife . He called me the same night and told me it was the best cacciatore he has ever had and wanted the recipe . I can wait to make it again ! You won't be disappointed I promise. Doug
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I really liked this! I'm big on improvising with what I have already in the house, so I made some changes. I didn't have mushrooms, orange juice, or rosemary. I used zucchini, mango juice, thyme & tarragon. It turned out great! I'm not suggesting the changes, I'm just saying that you can be flexible with what you've got =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Great recipe, thank you! 3 changes...Omit orange juice, add 1 - 8 ounce can tomato sauce added, along with 1 can Italian diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil instead of the regular kind. Oh yeah, I added a few spices, crushed red pepper flakes, pepper, seasoned salt, garlic powder, oregano, Italian seasoning, parsley flakes and way less rosemary. It tasted like my mom's, which I haven't been able to have for many, many years. But, I remember folks, and it's yummy! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States