Ellen's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ellenmoriah
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is my recipe, and I'm glad so many of you have enjoyed it. A couple comments after reading your reviews: substituting an ingredient within the sauce will change the character of the dish. The orange juice mixed with white wine, tomatoes, and rosemary is what gives this dish a different taste than other Cacciatore recipes. This is not intended to be a thick "hearty" sauce. Feel free to add some tomato paste to give it a little body, but it's meant to be a "runny" sauce. The pasta or rice will soak some of it up, but it's a good idea to have a nice loaf of bread to dip in the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This is a fabulous recipe and so easy to make. Thanks for sharing, Ellen. The only change I made was to use dry Marsala instead of white wine and I thickened with a roux at the end. We had it with whole grain rice with parmesan cheese and it was absolutely delicious. This will become a regular in our house too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I got some chicken thighs on sale and looked here for a different recipe on cooking them . I thought this recipe looked good and tried it . WOW ! It was not only easy and quick , but so delicious . We put it over a bed of long grain rice . the only thing I added was 1/2 tsp of tyme . I shared 1/2 of it with my brother and his wife . He called me the same night and told me it was the best cacciatore he has ever had and wanted the recipe . I can wait to make it again ! You won't be disappointed I promise. Doug
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Great recipe, thank you! 3 changes...Omit orange juice, add 1 - 8 ounce can tomato sauce added, along with 1 can Italian diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil instead of the regular kind. Oh yeah, I added a few spices, crushed red pepper flakes, pepper, seasoned salt, garlic powder, oregano, Italian seasoning, parsley flakes and way less rosemary. It tasted like my mom's, which I haven't been able to have for many, many years. But, I remember folks, and it's yummy! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I really liked this! I'm big on improvising with what I have already in the house, so I made some changes. I didn't have mushrooms, orange juice, or rosemary. I used zucchini, mango juice, thyme & tarragon. It turned out great! I'm not suggesting the changes, I'm just saying that you can be flexible with what you've got =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Definitely add a small can if tomato paste. Even if the original recipe is meant to be a thin sauce it really does work out better with the paste. Easily makes enough sauce for 12 oz of penne pasta, probably enough for 16 oz. depending upon the ratio of sauce to pasta that you prefer. This has a nice mild flavor but is not bland at all. Be sure to top it with grated parm. Even my mushroom hater of a teenage son gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Thank you for the recipe. It was delicious! I saved the leftover sauce in the fridge overnight. The next night, I combined it with a large can of chicken broth, brought it to boil, added half a package of spaggetti, cooked until done and served it up in bowls with wedges of fresh lemon squeezed over the top. It was the easiest and best tasting soup EVER! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I love chicken cacciatore but my family hates peppers and any vegetables I try to slip in. This recipe is not only simple, but so flavorful! Everyone Loved it- even the picky kids! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is #$^!@#%$ amazing. Had to use thyme because I didn't have rosemary, but followed the recipe exactly otherwise, and it was delicious. Worked great with polenta and parmesan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Made exactly as written except I used fresh rosemary. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States