Ellen's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This came out perfectly. I made it exactly as the recipe directed, except I used fresh rosemary instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dominic
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I followed this recipe to the letter, but used boneless/skinless thighs for the chicken. We found the dish to be so, so. My husband and I were not impressed with the rosemary/tomato combination. I'm returning to my classic recipe for this dish. It was not bad if you like rosemary with tomatoes. we didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Followed recipe pretty close but omitted wine (I am alcohol-free, no longer touch the stuff) and only used 1 Tb crushed rosemary because 2 seemed excessive. The sauce was perfect, not watery as some claimed (maybe due to no wine so less liquid). Husband had seconds! Note to self: use non-stick pan next time, the chicken thighs stuck to my Calphalon pan even with oil. Everything got scraped up in the end but it was a bit of a mess when I removed the cooked thighs from the pan. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
good taste. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Made it today, my husband totally loved it. We had jalapeño focaccia bread with it. I think I'd be great over basmati rice as well. Thank you, Ellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly interms of ingrediants, I did throw it in a slow cooker though because of a busy day. I thought it was great, my husband thought it had a little too much wine in it so for his preference I would in the future cut that back a bit but that might have just been because it was in the slow cooker or I did not have as much meat cooking in it. Thanks for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennyAndTheBoys
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly except for mushrooms which I didn't have. I thought it was delicious, runny yes, but I actually love runny sauces that you can sop up with bread. The chicken came out very tender. My husband and 10 year old son thought it was a bit acidic (the tomato taste was over powering for them) so next time I will try it with half the tomatoes. My 3 year old twins inhaled this and one of them rubbed his tummy and said mmmmm. I served it on white rice and a side of bread. The Rosemary did not seem like too much for us, it gave it a good flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was great!!!! it's really a 4.5 star!!!! I did cut back on the rosemary to 2.5 teaspoons and added a can of tomato paste. I also cut up the thighs in to small pieces sure it boosted the flavor level. Served on top of egg noodles with butter biscuits, Cant wait to try the leftovers, I bet it will be better the 2nd. time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Kealy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This was fantastic. I made it without the mushrooms because I completely forgot them at the store and didn't go back... will not do this again as I REALLY missed them. But everyone loved the taste. Splurged and used fresh squeezed orange juice. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Love this! Lots of liquid, so I chopped up the chicken, served it in bowls and called it soup! Superb! Even better the next day. I will make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States