Ellen's Buffalo Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ellenmoriah
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is my recipe, so let me add this to what I originally posted. Ground bison emits a "juice" that isn't familiar to me with other ground meats. I don't know what it is. I DO know that I skim it away from the meatloaf and once that's done, it doesn't appear again... not even during reheating. For those of you who've added to the recipe, I suspect the additions altered the chemistry. If the results were tasty, excellent! If not, you might want to try this recipe as posted, and alter it later, once you know what the original tastes like. The quick summary is the ground bison behaves differently when baked than ground beef. I should have mentioned this in my original posting of the recipe. Sorry 'bout that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Very good, I made them into mini-meatloaves, using a muffin tin. I'm impatient and don't like to have to wait the 1 1/2 hours to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluucantu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I ended up making this with half ground buffalo and half ground beef (didn't pay attention when taking it out of the freezer). I added some fresh garlic, and, like others, diced up the canned tomatoes a little more finely. The only other change I made was to mix some prepared English mustard with the ketchup. Although it crumbled when I cut into it, this was a very tasty meatloaf. Nice and moist too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Because Im "eating healthy" i modified this a bit and it still came out great. I used whole wheat breadcrumbs I (have also used a whole wheat pita all ground up before as well) and eggbeaters. I used 1/3 cup crushed tomatoes because I dont like tomato chunks and only 1/4 onion. Also I didnt add any salt. This was great and it stuck to my plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patchogue, New York, USA
Living In: Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Great recipe. I used all antelope instead of buffalo. I doubled the recipe but only used 1 can of diced tomatoes. I didn't have mustard powder so I used a tablespoon of regular mustard. It was good... the only thing I would do different is chop the the onions and tomatoes smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Mountain View, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is the first time I've cooked bison. This is an easy recipe that calls for few ingredients and tastes great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
If you are looking for a substitute for beef then try this recipe. Good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was the best meatloaf I ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
WOOOOWWWW This is one of the best meatloafs! Its simple, so you dont think it will be good, but its amazing. Doesnt taste like buffalo at all. My husband HATES bison/buffalo and I didnt tell him it was buffalo until AFTER he had devoured the entire pan, includng the planned leftovers. He was amazed. I will be making this many many times to come. Might make a good burger patty too, albeit crumbly. Oh, and you do have to drain off the grease but its no big deal. I topped mine with Ketchup mixed with worcestershire and brown sugar. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
So moist! We love the addition of the canned tomatoes, but do take the time to chop them smaller- some of the pieces were quite large! I used whole grain crackers in place of the bread, and added some flax and wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States