Ellen's Buffalo Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
We loved this! To be honest my husband and I had to literally STOP ourselves from going back for more! We eat very healthy for the most part and this was a great dinner. Also Buffalo meat is high in amino acids & very low in fat!!Because my husband is allergic to wheat I substituted about 1.5 cups of crispy brown rice cereal for the bread, and I used only 1/2 t. salt. Added a chopped red pepper I had on hand and topped it with the ketchup with some brown sugar and a dab of spicy red pepper sauce. It did not hold together very well (because of the rice cereal substitute I had to use) but it was NO problem! I formed it as well as I could and placed it in the pan. It cut pretty well...and it was DELICIOUS! I will make this 1x a week during the colder months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I followed the recipe as written only I microwaved the meatloaf in a tupperware microwavable dish for 20 minutes, let it set for 5 minutes. I put the ketchup on it after It came out of the microwave. It was delicious and I will make this again and again. Thanks for a great bison recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
delicious! and less than 200 calories a serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was the best meatloaf I ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was fabulous! My kids loved it. I used a can of petite diced tomatoes and finely diced the onions, as another reviewer recommended. I added 2 pcs of whole grain bread, instead of 1. Very moist, cooked quickly in my convection oven. Will definately make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmhunt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
So simple, yet delicious! I cooked the meatloaf in a muffin tin which allowed me to easily freeze the leftovers. The buffalo meat results in a sweeter and very moist meat with much less fat unlike beef. I LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Very tasty meatloaf. Even my picky 3 year old loved it! I didn't have diced tomatoes so I used cut up stewed Italian tomatoes and also added some Worcestshire sauce to it. Excellent - will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellenmoriah
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is my recipe, so let me add this to what I originally posted. Ground bison emits a "juice" that isn't familiar to me with other ground meats. I don't know what it is. I DO know that I skim it away from the meatloaf and once that's done, it doesn't appear again... not even during reheating. For those of you who've added to the recipe, I suspect the additions altered the chemistry. If the results were tasty, excellent! If not, you might want to try this recipe as posted, and alter it later, once you know what the original tastes like. The quick summary is the ground bison behaves differently when baked than ground beef. I should have mentioned this in my original posting of the recipe. Sorry 'bout that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Very good, I made them into mini-meatloaves, using a muffin tin. I'm impatient and don't like to have to wait the 1 1/2 hours to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluucantu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was good. Didn't have the canned tomatoes so we just skipped that part. It could have used a little more flavor, so I'll experiment next time, but I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bacon-Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf

Meatloaf made from ground buffalo and vegetables, wrapped in bacon.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States