Ellen's Buffalo Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
The is the best meatloaf I have had. SO much flavor. I did vary a bit... I substituted diced tomatoes for roasted red peppers. I added about a tablespoon of olive oil and I added about a tablespoon of (fresh) rosemary. YUM, YUM, YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
We absolutely loved this! We are a meat and potatoes type couple, but we're always trying to find ways to eat more healthy and try something new. We were thrilled that our local butcher had/has buffalo on hand and we're happy to now throw this in the mix for dinner! Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Breen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was great! The only changes I made were using 1/4 dried quinoa cooked for 8 minutes in 1/2 cup water in lieu of breadcrumbs. I put meatloaf in bread pan and after 60 mins, I took out of the oven, drained liquid, and continued cooking. It was yummy and very healthy. Served alongside roasted brussel sprouts! My toddler loved it, too :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by villa_n_tuscany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Tried it, we love Bison...tweeked some hot Rotel to sub. the diced tomatoes...must have if you like it spicy! Great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I'd never cooked with buffalo before - this was the perfect starter recipe! Combining a bunch of other recipes here: Substituted quick oats (like Mom!) for bread, spicy brown mustard instead of powdered, and just a sprinkle of salt. Cooked in mini loaf pans for 45 minutes. It crumbled instead of sliced. I didn't care. :) Thank you, Ellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I substituted ground bison with ground venison. It turned out great. It was flavorful without overpowering the wild meat taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was really good! The only change I made was to use panko breadcrumbs instead of a piece of bread. Mine didn't cut into slices like a regular meatloaf, it kind of all crumbled up. To be honest, it looked like dog food on the plate, but it was yummy, and 3 of us ate the whole loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I used rotel tomatoes instead of diced tomatoes. I also added red pepper and tossed some Pensey's alpeppo pepper on top. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
My husband and I both love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I have a freezer full of bison, so I'm quite familiar with it. Ground bison is significantly less fatty than ground beef. That must be considered when using in any recipe, although bison can be substituted for beef in any recipe. It's ALWAYS better! As for the 'juice' mentioned in the author's post, I've never experienced that. I typically find that the only 'juice' I have is made up of the ingredients I've added. The bison I get from Niobrara Valley Bison is so lean that I sometimes add olive oil if I"m going to grill burgers. I can't say enough about switching from beef to bison. Rarely do I do anything with beef anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bacon-Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf

Meatloaf made from ground buffalo and vegetables, wrapped in bacon.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States