Ellen's Buffalo Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is easy, and amazing. I didn't have, of all things, canned tomatoes, so I drained a 10 oz can of Rotel tomatoes and chilis, and used that instead. It was fantastic. The slight sweet taste of the ketchup was marvelous against the spice of the Rotel. I baked it in my microwave convection oven, 30 minutes at 350 and 25 at 325. Perfect. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Made it for my girlfriend. she loved it! even got five year old nephew to try it.(thats saying alot) will.definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
huge hit in our family! I accidentily forgot to drain the tomatoes so I added 1 cup of quick oats to help soak up the juice, and a second egg to help the oats bind to the meatloaf. I also diced a green pepper and added it because I didn't want it to go to waste. This recipe made a huge meatloaf, enough to comfortably serve 8. Serious bargain meal with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jog4donuts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
The is the best meatloaf I have had. SO much flavor. I did vary a bit... I substituted diced tomatoes for roasted red peppers. I added about a tablespoon of olive oil and I added about a tablespoon of (fresh) rosemary. YUM, YUM, YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
We absolutely loved this! We are a meat and potatoes type couple, but we're always trying to find ways to eat more healthy and try something new. We were thrilled that our local butcher had/has buffalo on hand and we're happy to now throw this in the mix for dinner! Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMBreen95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was great! The only changes I made were using 1/4 dried quinoa cooked for 8 minutes in 1/2 cup water in lieu of breadcrumbs. I put meatloaf in bread pan and after 60 mins, I took out of the oven, drained liquid, and continued cooking. It was yummy and very healthy. Served alongside roasted brussel sprouts! My toddler loved it, too :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by villa_n_tuscany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Tried it, we love Bison...tweeked some hot Rotel to sub. the diced tomatoes...must have if you like it spicy! Great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I'd never cooked with buffalo before - this was the perfect starter recipe! Combining a bunch of other recipes here: Substituted quick oats (like Mom!) for bread, spicy brown mustard instead of powdered, and just a sprinkle of salt. Cooked in mini loaf pans for 45 minutes. It crumbled instead of sliced. I didn't care. :) Thank you, Ellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I substituted ground bison with ground venison. It turned out great. It was flavorful without overpowering the wild meat taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was really good! The only change I made was to use panko breadcrumbs instead of a piece of bread. Mine didn't cut into slices like a regular meatloaf, it kind of all crumbled up. To be honest, it looked like dog food on the plate, but it was yummy, and 3 of us ate the whole loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States