Ellen Szaller's Mashed Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
My son and I made these for a quick late night dinner. I had been looking for a long time for a good recipe and this is it. I did make a couple of changes. I omitted the corn syrup and nutmeg. I also added 1/4 cup parmesan cheese. These turned out perfect. We topped them with sour cream and I am planning on making another batch right now. We used left over pancakes for a modified eggs benedict. We topped them with canadian bacon, poached egg, and hollandaise sauce. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2000
Quick, easy, especially if the mashed potates were from the night before. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2000
I made these for my family last night and was delighted with the results -- within seconds they were completely gone! I have yet to find a snack which required such little prep time, and which yielded such amazing responses from my family! Thank you Ellen for making dinner fun again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was fantastic *****! Made it with left over garlic mashed potatoes from turkey dinner for Christmas morning breakfast, it is just the boyfriend and myself so I cut the recipe in half and also had to use margarine rather then shortening because I did not have any on hand. I also used half whipping cream and half milk. ummm so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
These were great! Love them! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
my family LOVES them!! We do not add the onions!! great with apple sauce on top! yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Loved these, thought they were a great use for some leftover mashed potatoes I had in the fridge. I used my garlic mashed potatoes and served them with honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
OUTstanding...if you had problems with the recipe it might be because you were recycling mashed potatoes that had lost some water. Also, I used more oil in the cooking process...about one inch deep at 350 degrees. Other than that, I followed the recipe to the letter....LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I used this recipe as a sounding board for a way for my vegetarian daughter to enjoy a similar dinner as the rest of the family, on a night I was making Crab cakes. I used sweet potatoes and added green onion, curry powder, salt and pepper with only a tablespoon of flour and one egg. Mixed together and then coated them in panko and fried them in olive oil until crispy. She sprinkled them with Louisiana hot sauce and said they were delish and would make them again at her house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I added some ricotta when I mixed it! Got rid of my leftover cheese and mashed potatoes and it went very well with bbq ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States