Ellen Szaller's Mashed Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
My family loved the taste but liked the consistency of the potato cakes much better with only one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Being of German decent, I always look for "Potato" Pancakes. Ellen's caught my eye; glad it did. Great recipes, however, I made a slight change to it. Instead of using 1 cup milk, I increased it to 1-1/2 cup to make the mixture thinner. At first, I feared one onion would be too much but after the pancakes were fried, we tasted only a hint of onion - just enough to add some zest to the recipe. Thanks, Ellen, for sharing this recipe with AllRecipe readers. God bless you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I had leftover garlic mashed, so I used those, and left out the corn syrup. These were EXCELLENT with a little ketchup. My three year old ate 3 by himself! (can't beat fried mashed potatoes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I found this recipe to be very good. The only drawback are the calories. But my kids loved it, plus I too was able to use the left over mashed potatoes. I would definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtecgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I thought these were a great way to use leftover mashed potatoes. I didn't add the onions and because they turned out so sweet, I served them for dessert w/ butter and honey. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Didn't work for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
OUTstanding...if you had problems with the recipe it might be because you were recycling mashed potatoes that had lost some water. Also, I used more oil in the cooking process...about one inch deep at 350 degrees. Other than that, I followed the recipe to the letter....LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Loved these, thought they were a great use for some leftover mashed potatoes I had in the fridge. I used my garlic mashed potatoes and served them with honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Great change of pace. Used leftover mashed potatoes, substituted whole wheat flour, and skipped the corn syrup simply because I did not realize we were out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Best potato pancakes we ever tasted - the whole family agrees! Very moist but not soggy, slightly sweet with hint of nutmeg - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States