Elk Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This is the best chili recipe for Elk! We've used it a couple of times and really like it. We did cut down on the brown sugar a bit but it is very ejoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Delicious but we had to adjust this recipe quite a bit: a lot less sugar; a lot more chili powder; two cans of beans. We also drain our tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edwards-Barney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
My favorite chilli recipe - we use either elk or deer. I don't use brown sugar and add hot jalapenos. We love it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Excellent use of Elk meat. I followed the recipe to a T and I am very, very pleased with it. I used the full 1/2 cup of brown sugar and it was just right, this is not meant to be a spicy chili, it is mild, smooth and absolutely delicious!! I will probably use stewed tomatoes next time in place of the italian, because those pieces are pretty large and I ended up cutting them down while they were cooking anyway. I also like the use of the canned kidney beans as they are already softened up which is normally the hardest part of cooking chili. Great recipe, thanks for sharing, I would have given 6 stars if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This was the best chili I have EVER had. My boyfriend was very impressed, little did he know how easy it was! I cooked the chili in my crock pot for 3-4 hours on high while I was gone, came home to a wonderful meal in minutes! Great flavor, will make again and again. I did add celery, and sweet peppers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This recipe rocked!!! I added 2 Tbsp of chili powder and halved the brown sugar and it came out PERFECT! I used deer meat instead of elk. Would make with beef too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I like it alot , but I thought it was a little on the soupy side. I have made it several times and after the first couple I started to drain, I know this will sound weird, the stewed tomatos. It helps a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Freaking Awsome! reading the reveiws after i made it i figured out what they were talking about. if you cant take the chile heat you do have to cut the sugar. IF you love it like i do it is perfect! sweet and spicy i tossed the chile poder as i have a jalapeno bush out back minced 2 of those and instead of the small can of grean chile we have here in the sw this time of year fresh roasted chile on the side walk in abq. so i diced 3 of those and it was sooooo good! also subbed jarred black eyed peas for the kidneys cuz i didnt have any. so so good. oops i amost forgot. i only had elk in 1lb packages but i had a 1/2lb of beakfast sausage so ... never going to forget this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I chose this recipe ( versus using my usual chili recipe) in case I had to disguise the fact it had elk in it for my husband. It was great. My son rated it an A- which is really good by his standards. I would have made it a little less spicy for my taste, but the men in my family liked it the way it is. I think it would be a great chili with ground beef as well- will try it when the elk we were given runs out! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was really GOOD. I was looking for a hearty dish to use up some elk tips and thought they would work with this recipe. Aside from not using ground meat, the only change I made was adding red pepper flakes. Otherwise...terrific chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States