Elk Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I don't really like wild game, but this chili is amazing, and you really can't taste the difference between elk and beef at all. I made it for a really big group of guys, and they asked for the leftovers for lunch the next day. Very easy recipe to make and very tasty. It's a keeper recipe for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Mmmm so good! I like my chile thick & spicy, so I used 2lbs ground elk instead of 1.5, doubled the kidney beans, drained the stewed tomatoes, and added 3 finely chopped jalapenos, 2 chopped bell peppers and a few dashes of Tapatio. Served it up with some homemade cornbread & it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This chili is a good base for what I consider great chili. The first time I made it had some elk from the friend so I was able to follow the recipe exactly. The flavor is really nice with a crowd pleasing amount of spice. I have made this many times now and have since perfected it to my liking. I add three bell peppers (1 red, 1 green, 1 yellow), only use one onion, and I usually use lean ground turkey since I rarely have elk on hand (though it is better with elk). That, in my book equals a five star dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
My new favorite winter go-to meal! My brothers are hunters and always give me meat so I thought I'd try this chili on a snowy Colorado night! What a hit! I used 1/3 cup brown sugar and instead of green chiles I used fresh jalapenos since we like it hot! It was great for nachos the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Good recipe, even picky kids ate it! Only got for stars because I would have liked a bit more flavor and spice, but that can be adjusted next time. Love that it didn't make a ton. Just enough for dinner and lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Osburn, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I agree with half the sugar. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
It was great until I added the sugar. I olnly used 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup. Too sweet.... Just personal preference. I will make this easy recipe again. Without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was very good, but I made quite a few modifications. I read the reviews and cut the brown sugar in half and pretty much doubled the chili powder, and also added a whole bunch of other ingredients (3 garlic cloves, a bell pepper, a fresno pepper, paprika, cayenne, dash of liquid smoke, dash of Worcestershire, and a dash of Chipotle Tabasco). Even with all the extra ingredients, it was still a bit sweet for me, so I would go down to just maybe 2 tablespoons of sugar next time. Husband loved it! You could even serve this to people who aren't fans of elk- it tasted like beef to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I chose this recipe ( versus using my usual chili recipe) in case I had to disguise the fact it had elk in it for my husband. It was great. My son rated it an A- which is really good by his standards. I would have made it a little less spicy for my taste, but the men in my family liked it the way it is. I think it would be a great chili with ground beef as well- will try it when the elk we were given runs out! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This didn't turn out well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States