Elk Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
We loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This was the best chili I have EVER had. My boyfriend was very impressed, little did he know how easy it was! I cooked the chili in my crock pot for 3-4 hours on high while I was gone, came home to a wonderful meal in minutes! Great flavor, will make again and again. I did add celery, and sweet peppers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was my first attempt at chili, and I am very happy with it! I used 2 pounds of ground deer, and only 1 onion. I rinsed the beans because I don't like the slimy texture canned beans have. I used a liberal amount of chili powder and only about 1/8 of a cup of brown sugar. I put everything into my crock pot, added 1 cup water, and cooked it on high for 3 hours. Next time, I will add only 1/2 cup water, but overall I am very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalisa99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremond, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was soooo goooood. It was my first time making anything with elk. I hope it is not my last. Someone gave me some, and hopefully I will be able to get more. I think this would also be good with venison. Thanks. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This was a great chili recipe! We used about half venison and half elk since that's what we had. I had about 2 1/2 pounds of meat, so we used 2 cans of beans and increased the tomato sauce and spices. I used the full 1/2 cup of sugar and thought it was perfect with this amount of chili. I also used about 2 oz. of diced jalapenos instead of the green chiles to give it more kick. Perfect!! Thanks for a great recipe for game meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Excellent use of Elk meat. I followed the recipe to a T and I am very, very pleased with it. I used the full 1/2 cup of brown sugar and it was just right, this is not meant to be a spicy chili, it is mild, smooth and absolutely delicious!! I will probably use stewed tomatoes next time in place of the italian, because those pieces are pretty large and I ended up cutting them down while they were cooking anyway. I also like the use of the canned kidney beans as they are already softened up which is normally the hardest part of cooking chili. Great recipe, thanks for sharing, I would have given 6 stars if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This recipe rocked!!! I added 2 Tbsp of chili powder and halved the brown sugar and it came out PERFECT! I used deer meat instead of elk. Would make with beef too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This is the best chili recipe for Elk! We've used it a couple of times and really like it. We did cut down on the brown sugar a bit but it is very ejoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
This was great, I too put half the brown sugar in. I added an extra can of kidney beans. It is thick. We ate it using corn chips to scoop it up. A great way to use Elk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
My favorite chilli recipe - we use either elk or deer. I don't use brown sugar and add hot jalapenos. We love it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States