Elk Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was soooo goooood. It was my first time making anything with elk. I hope it is not my last. Someone gave me some, and hopefully I will be able to get more. I think this would also be good with venison. Thanks. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Oh, how I wish I'd have read the reviews before making this. Then I would have known that 1/2 C. Brown Sugar is WAY. TOO. MUCH. It gave it a funky flavor that I had to add spices and stuff to to compensate for, and in turn ended up with a big pot of gross chili that we had to eat up anyway. Perhaps with less sugar, it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Delicious but we had to adjust this recipe quite a bit: a lot less sugar; a lot more chili powder; two cans of beans. We also drain our tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edwards-Barney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This recipe rocked!!! I added 2 Tbsp of chili powder and halved the brown sugar and it came out PERFECT! I used deer meat instead of elk. Would make with beef too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This was the best chili I have EVER had. My boyfriend was very impressed, little did he know how easy it was! I cooked the chili in my crock pot for 3-4 hours on high while I was gone, came home to a wonderful meal in minutes! Great flavor, will make again and again. I did add celery, and sweet peppers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I liked this recipe, but I didn't love it. The italian seasoning in the tomatoes came through a little too strongly for a chili recipe. And though I love sugar, I'll have to agree with previous reviewers who suggested cutting back on the brown sugar because the chili was SO sweet. If I had more elk, I'd try it again. Thanks for an elk recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This chili is the best one I've found yet! It doesn't have a nice "burn" though. If you favor a slow burn to your chili, but not really spicy, add just a pinch of crushed red pepper to this recipe and cook it in a crockpot on low for about 3 or 4 hours. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This is really good if you add the sugar to taste. 1/2 cup is way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I like it alot , but I thought it was a little on the soupy side. I have made it several times and after the first couple I started to drain, I know this will sound weird, the stewed tomatos. It helps a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
My favorite chilli recipe - we use either elk or deer. I don't use brown sugar and add hot jalapenos. We love it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States