Elk Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
WOW! Great recipe, pretty easy to make, though dicing the onions took a little while. I also added 2 potato's (cubed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Good, but a little sweet... I will use less sugar next time. instead of a 1/2 cup sugar I'll use at most 1/3 cup brown sugar. I did use less tomsto sauce then the recipe called for (1 14oz can). it was plenty of sauce... anymore it might have been the consistency of spaghetti sauce. Good recipe though. We really liked it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was my first attempt at chili, and I am very happy with it! I used 2 pounds of ground deer, and only 1 onion. I rinsed the beans because I don't like the slimy texture canned beans have. I used a liberal amount of chili powder and only about 1/8 of a cup of brown sugar. I put everything into my crock pot, added 1 cup water, and cooked it on high for 3 hours. Next time, I will add only 1/2 cup water, but overall I am very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalisa99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremond, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This was a great chili recipe! We used about half venison and half elk since that's what we had. I had about 2 1/2 pounds of meat, so we used 2 cans of beans and increased the tomato sauce and spices. I used the full 1/2 cup of sugar and thought it was perfect with this amount of chili. I also used about 2 oz. of diced jalapenos instead of the green chiles to give it more kick. Perfect!! Thanks for a great recipe for game meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was soooo goooood. It was my first time making anything with elk. I hope it is not my last. Someone gave me some, and hopefully I will be able to get more. I think this would also be good with venison. Thanks. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Oh, how I wish I'd have read the reviews before making this. Then I would have known that 1/2 C. Brown Sugar is WAY. TOO. MUCH. It gave it a funky flavor that I had to add spices and stuff to to compensate for, and in turn ended up with a big pot of gross chili that we had to eat up anyway. Perhaps with less sugar, it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Delicious but we had to adjust this recipe quite a bit: a lot less sugar; a lot more chili powder; two cans of beans. We also drain our tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edwards-Barney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This recipe rocked!!! I added 2 Tbsp of chili powder and halved the brown sugar and it came out PERFECT! I used deer meat instead of elk. Would make with beef too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This was the best chili I have EVER had. My boyfriend was very impressed, little did he know how easy it was! I cooked the chili in my crock pot for 3-4 hours on high while I was gone, came home to a wonderful meal in minutes! Great flavor, will make again and again. I did add celery, and sweet peppers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States