Elk Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Excellent, simple recipe. Would change around the spices a bit, but quite edible even following recipe to the "T".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cryingwolf110583
Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Great recipe, used front quarter and thinly sliced meat instead of using gound, it was wonderful! I would recommend this to anyone with elk that wants a great chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was excellent but I made a few additions: 1 link chorizo,I use only Santa Cruz red chili. 3 cloves garlic, 1 can tomato paste and I used a 28 oz can of tomotoes. I agree on half the brown sugar. Fresh cilantro and NO cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Freaking Awsome! reading the reveiws after i made it i figured out what they were talking about. if you cant take the chile heat you do have to cut the sugar. IF you love it like i do it is perfect! sweet and spicy i tossed the chile poder as i have a jalapeno bush out back minced 2 of those and instead of the small can of grean chile we have here in the sw this time of year fresh roasted chile on the side walk in abq. so i diced 3 of those and it was sooooo good! also subbed jarred black eyed peas for the kidneys cuz i didnt have any. so so good. oops i amost forgot. i only had elk in 1lb packages but i had a 1/2lb of beakfast sausage so ... never going to forget this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Delicious!! Made this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazkabor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This is a great Chili recipe I added some Liquid Smoke and I used Cayenne pepper instead of the black pepper and 2 tsp of Ancho chile pepper and 1 hot link chopped and fried w\meat the flavor is BOLD W\an OUTDOOR CAMPING W\ a MILD SWEET then MILD WARMING SENSATION
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is a really good chili that is not too tomato-ey or too much chili powder. All my kids and my wife liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was really GOOD. I was looking for a hearty dish to use up some elk tips and thought they would work with this recipe. Aside from not using ground meat, the only change I made was adding red pepper flakes. Otherwise...terrific chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Very good. I did add garlic when cooking the meat and onions, and I used 2-3 tablespoons of brown sugar. I cannot imagine using a half cup. I did not add green chilies because I used diced tomatoes with jalapenos. Delicious. I thought this way was the perfect blend of sweet and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libbs81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made this for 80 people for a Cub Scout camping trip. I halved the brown sugar. This was wonderful. Smooth with a little kick at the finish. It was great. I had people begging to buy the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie in Fla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Absecon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States