Elk Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Hubby gushed about this and went back for seconds. The key with elk is to brown at a lower temperature longer (don't rush!). Only major modification was the addition of chopped jalapeno, which gave it a very nice sweet and spicy balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was my first time eating elk. I am so glad this recipe was fabulous!! I added 1 extra can of beans and a little bit of ketchup. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
it was ok way too much brown but with more spices and chillies it turnd out really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I don't really like wild game, but this chili is amazing, and you really can't taste the difference between elk and beef at all. I made it for a really big group of guys, and they asked for the leftovers for lunch the next day. Very easy recipe to make and very tasty. It's a keeper recipe for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Mmmm so good! I like my chile thick & spicy, so I used 2lbs ground elk instead of 1.5, doubled the kidney beans, drained the stewed tomatoes, and added 3 finely chopped jalapenos, 2 chopped bell peppers and a few dashes of Tapatio. Served it up with some homemade cornbread & it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This chili is a good base for what I consider great chili. The first time I made it had some elk from the friend so I was able to follow the recipe exactly. The flavor is really nice with a crowd pleasing amount of spice. I have made this many times now and have since perfected it to my liking. I add three bell peppers (1 red, 1 green, 1 yellow), only use one onion, and I usually use lean ground turkey since I rarely have elk on hand (though it is better with elk). That, in my book equals a five star dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
My new favorite winter go-to meal! My brothers are hunters and always give me meat so I thought I'd try this chili on a snowy Colorado night! What a hit! I used 1/3 cup brown sugar and instead of green chiles I used fresh jalapenos since we like it hot! It was great for nachos the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Good recipe, even picky kids ate it! Only got for stars because I would have liked a bit more flavor and spice, but that can be adjusted next time. Love that it didn't make a ton. Just enough for dinner and lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Osburn, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I agree with half the sugar. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
It was great until I added the sugar. I olnly used 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup. Too sweet.... Just personal preference. I will make this easy recipe again. Without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States