Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
The only thing that I changed in this recipe was the type of chocolate used - I used a mix of bittersweet and dark in the cake and frosting and used milk chocolate for the ganache. The cake was absolutely delicious though next time I think that I would use the milk chocolate ganache as the allover frosting as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
This cake was wonderful! I made it for my husbands birthday, and it was a big hit. The best part was the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
I won second place OVERALL at our State Fair with this cake....over approx 250 cakes! It is fabulous. My only change is I use choco-bake instead of unsweetened chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
TO DIE FOR! That's all I have to say about this cake. I made it for a BBQ for my family and EVERYONE loved it. 3 people requested where I got the recipe from. It is an involved recipe, but it's not difficult and most ingredients are in your pantry. I love to bake so doing all the steps was fun for me. I mixed part unsweetened chocolate and semi-sweet and it was delicious. I have never added boiling water to a cake mix and was a little alarmed when it was bubbly, but it was totally fine. I would maybe suggest using wax paper on the bottom of the pan to help with removal from the pans. That was my only slight mishap. Awesome cake! THANKS for SHARING your concoction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crackerjill
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
my first time trying out a moist chocolate cake & it turned out wonderfully! i, however, skipped the frosting & used only the ganache. my girlfriend who's a chocolate cake freak absolutely loved it and has even asked me to bake one for her next birthday! thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crackerjill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
This recipe was a major hit! Everybody told me I should open up a bakery. I made it just like the recipe recommended and it was definitely THE cake for chocoholics. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This was OK. Just watch the amount of vanilla listed in the ingredients versus what it says in the recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
GREAT cake recipe. I used a Godiva Chocolate buttercream recipe for the icing instead of the one listed (1 C butter, 2 C powdered sugar, 1/3 C Godiva Liquor) as I was hesistant about the egg in this icing recipe. The cake and ganach were one of the best combinations ever! The cake was moist and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I have died and gone to heaven! Wow! This cake is awesome! It is definitely worth the effort! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LawyerChef11
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
Great...I made this cake for father's day..what a hit. I did have trouble getting it out of the pan, but it was nothing the frosting couldn't hide. I also did a few variations: I put a litte coffee liquor into my ganache and i whipped it so it'd be spreadable..I then covered the whole cake with it and let it set before putting on the delicious frosting...I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LawyerChef11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States