Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I usually don't trust recipes I find on the internet. However, this recipe looked so good that I tried it out on a family gathering. It was really great. An option that I really enjoyed was for the ganache: I made it first, then let it set for about 3 hours while I made the rest of the cake, stirring it every once in a while. The chocolate I used for it was the Ghiradelli's 60% Cacao chocolate chips (also comes in a bar form). That chocolate is amazing and made the ganache to die for!!!! Also it says to grease and flour the pans and that is a good idea. I used pam and flour and that works amazing-perhaps better than butter or crisco. And do watch out for the changes in vanilla. The cake says 1 1/5 tablespoons vanilla, yet in the directions it says 1 1/5 teaspoons...I opted for the teaspoons and it turned out great. I had some fresh raspberries that I sprinkled on top and around the bottom of the cake. This cake is amazing and will be a favorite of mine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
It was so good! i love the picture she used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Carlie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I have tried many chocolate cake recipes but this was the easiest and the most tasty. My family loved it! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KRAZYKEL028
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
WOW!! I had never made a cake from scratch but wanted to try. I was a little leary and VERY scared. I pretty much followed this recipe exact with the exception that I used semisweet choc chips for the ganache. This cake was VERY time consuming - im sure that might have something to do with my inexperience. I did refridgerate the ganache (overnight, actually since it became very late) In the morning I whipped it with a hand mixer and it was perfect. I didn't think the batter was too thin and it fit fine in 2 pans. I also did firmly pack the brown sugar as I think someone else had suggested. Ok so I twisted things a little by frosting the entire cake with the ganache and using the buttercream frosting to garnish on top and the bottom - I also shaved some chocolate for decor. (im going to see if I can figure out how to load a pic).. Here's the best part - I take this absolutely beautiful cake to work with me tonight and had it in a crystal disply case (I work in a restaurant) I added it as a dessert special and of course because of the beauty of it was ordered by the very first table of the night. I was mortified because even with its looks I was so afraid that with the first cut it would collapse or explode or worse, I was afraid it would taste disgusting all put together. HOLY MOLY, it was a hit!! We sold almost the whole cake and people went on about it being the best cake they ever had and how moist it was, etc. I was beaming and LOVED taking credit for it!! Thank U!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRAZYKEL028

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I don't know why anyone had a problem with this cake! I made this cake for the second year in a row for my fiance's birthday, and it came out perfectly. It fit 2 9 inch cake pans as stated, not sure how people had trouble with it overflowing and whatnot. In fact, it fit PERFECTLY into the pans. The ganache takes a bit to set, so plan accordingly, but still, this is a perfect recipe. Do NOT refrigerate the icing or you won't be able to spread it...unless you nuke it very briefly or add a tiny bit of hot water. The cake itself is not super chocolate-y, but if it was, the flavor of the ganache and icing mixed with it would overpower the cake. This is a great cake, and I must say...if you don't have a clue in the kitchen, stay away from this one! I have no idea what you're doing wrong, but don't blame the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This cake is outstanding. It is fun to make, and tastes like heaven. It is a very gourmet dessert, but worth the extra effort. I gave this recipe to a friend of mine a couple of years ago, and since then, people have actually paid her to make this cake for them. It's great to find such an amazing recipe - and even better to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I was a little nervous to try this recipe because of what people said about it being too watery. As I was making it, I realized the recipe didn't say "packed" for the brown sugar amount. That could be the problem for those with a too watery recipe. My batter seemed a little thin, but not excessive, and it's in the oven now, cooking up nicely. We'll eat it tonight and I'll let you know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
The best chocolated cake I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Have NO idead what went wrong with this recipe - but my own experience with this one is pure disaster. Prior to adding the boiling water to the batter, the batter looked terrific. I added the 1 cup of boiling water to the batter, and the batter became very thin (as the recipe says it will become). However, the recipe says it makes TWO 9 inch layers - but instead, it filled THREE 9 inch layers. (Now here's the worst part...) When baking in the oven, all three layers overflowed - badly - and the cake seemingly refused to bake(?). The recipe says 35-40 minutes to bake, and, after an hour & 15 minutes, I finally just took the pans out of the oven. The cakes were lopsided - and sunken in. When taking the layers out of the pan, ALL cake layers stuck badly to the pans. One of the layers came out like a DOUGHNUT(?!?) - about 3" diameter staying inside the pan! This is for a birthday party, tomorrow night, so I iced the cake anyway - but this cake is, without doubt, one of the ugliest, lopsided cakes I've ever made - and I'm actually afraid to see what it tastes like. Luckily, I have ice cream to go with it - so I'll most likely stop at the store & get stuff to make ice cream sundaes, just in case the first bite of cake tells me not to serve it to anyone else... Very, very odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by exnyker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States