Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I don't know why anyone had a problem with this cake! I made this cake for the second year in a row for my fiance's birthday, and it came out perfectly. It fit 2 9 inch cake pans as stated, not sure how people had trouble with it overflowing and whatnot. In fact, it fit PERFECTLY into the pans. The ganache takes a bit to set, so plan accordingly, but still, this is a perfect recipe. Do NOT refrigerate the icing or you won't be able to spread it...unless you nuke it very briefly or add a tiny bit of hot water. The cake itself is not super chocolate-y, but if it was, the flavor of the ganache and icing mixed with it would overpower the cake. This is a great cake, and I must say...if you don't have a clue in the kitchen, stay away from this one! I have no idea what you're doing wrong, but don't blame the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This cake is outstanding. It is fun to make, and tastes like heaven. It is a very gourmet dessert, but worth the extra effort. I gave this recipe to a friend of mine a couple of years ago, and since then, people have actually paid her to make this cake for them. It's great to find such an amazing recipe - and even better to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I was a little nervous to try this recipe because of what people said about it being too watery. As I was making it, I realized the recipe didn't say "packed" for the brown sugar amount. That could be the problem for those with a too watery recipe. My batter seemed a little thin, but not excessive, and it's in the oven now, cooking up nicely. We'll eat it tonight and I'll let you know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
The best chocolated cake I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Have NO idead what went wrong with this recipe - but my own experience with this one is pure disaster. Prior to adding the boiling water to the batter, the batter looked terrific. I added the 1 cup of boiling water to the batter, and the batter became very thin (as the recipe says it will become). However, the recipe says it makes TWO 9 inch layers - but instead, it filled THREE 9 inch layers. (Now here's the worst part...) When baking in the oven, all three layers overflowed - badly - and the cake seemingly refused to bake(?). The recipe says 35-40 minutes to bake, and, after an hour & 15 minutes, I finally just took the pans out of the oven. The cakes were lopsided - and sunken in. When taking the layers out of the pan, ALL cake layers stuck badly to the pans. One of the layers came out like a DOUGHNUT(?!?) - about 3" diameter staying inside the pan! This is for a birthday party, tomorrow night, so I iced the cake anyway - but this cake is, without doubt, one of the ugliest, lopsided cakes I've ever made - and I'm actually afraid to see what it tastes like. Luckily, I have ice cream to go with it - so I'll most likely stop at the store & get stuff to make ice cream sundaes, just in case the first bite of cake tells me not to serve it to anyone else... Very, very odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by exnyker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
It is chocolatey but wasn't as moist as I think it should be. I also like the previous reviewer was unable to cream the butter with the sugar, it seemed like the butter was not enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I used just the cake recipe for a raspberry chocolate cake I made the other day and this cake is just amazing. It's so moist and perfectly fudgey, this is definitely going to be my chocolate cake recipe for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I am not sure what happened...I didn't think the cake itself was very chocolatey at all! I also had a hard time getting the cake out of the pan. All the layers split or stuck in the pan. I must remember next time to use baking paper to line the pans. Sorry! I hope everyone else has better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This cake is outrageously delicious!!! It was a big hit at our office birthday party. Everyone loved it! Please note that it made 3 9-inch layers, not two. I also added about 1/2 cup confectioner's sugar to the ganache to thicken and sweeten just a little. The cake was moist and dark-the perfect chocolate cake. I didn't use the frosting recipe because the raw egg yolk sounded gross but the chocolate cream cheese frosting on another recipe on this site was a great substitute. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States