Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is soooo good. It reminds me of the double chocolate cake at buca di beppo. The only changes that I would make would be to not use the frosting and just go with the ganache and maybe add some fresh strawberries. The cake and the ganche are so good on their own and the frosting is delicious also but when added to the cake and ganche it is too much fat and sugar for me. I used gheridelli bittersweet chocolate for the ganache and omg, it was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This is an amazing cake! It is extremely rich and decadent. It is a little finnicky and takes longer than the recipe says (for me at least), but I get nothing but compliments when I make this. The extreme chocoholics of my family approve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Easy to follow recipe. Had no problem with any part of it. The icing was much better than others I've tried to make. Everyone loved this cake. My only change was to put fresh raspberries (two small cartons) in with the ganache. The raspberries cut the richness of the chocolate and add another level of flavor. I'd never done ganache before and used this website to understand it better. http://bigbaketheory.com/2012/02/24/ganache-101/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This cake tasted delicious. I made it for my adult daughter's birthday. The cake is so moist and the ganache and buttercream just the right amount of sweetness. I could only find semi-sweet chocolate chips, so maybe the ganache was sweeter than it was suppose to be, but still tasted amazing. Make sure to soften the cream cheese or it lumps and makes the decorating very impossible. It was the best chocolate cake I have ever made. My daughter loved it too! As did my chocolate loving family. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
HOLY SWEET GRACIOUS!!!!! Made this cake today, and I've never experienced such epic chocolate glory! WELL DONE!!!!! Well done... (P.S. If you messed this one up on the first go, please for all that is good in the world, try again! You won't regret it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Not as sweet as I thought it would be. Made it for my Boyfriend's B-day and he loved it and he doesn't like anything sweet. Kids and grand kids liked it as well. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I made this cake for my sweetie on Valentines Day and it is by far the Best cake I have ever made from scratch! If you want to save some time making it with out sacrificing quality I recommend Nestle Choco Bake - Pre-melted unsweetened Chocolate. You just knead the 1 oz packages and they turn to the exact consistency you need for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I'm not a baker and I had no problem making this cake! First I did not need 3 cake pans but I think it would have been better with the amount of ganache it makes, also I did not put frosting over the ganache so it also makes alot(it did need a little extra milk it was too thick to spred). The cake is so good and moist, I used light sour cream and a mix of unsweetened & semi-sweet chocolate since that is what I had on hand! It is so awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
We really liked this cake. The only changes I made was to sub the sour cream with soy cream cheese and coffee for the water. I used 3 -8 inch pans and it was just right. I frosted with a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States