Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Great flavor and I did not use the kind of chocolate called for in the recipe, I used dark chocolate I had on hand. Very rich cake that baked up better than I thought considering the batter consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Made this today for a birthday. It was all good and then i went to bake it. Nothing went TOO wrong but the center of the cake wasn't completely done and I left it in for 15+ more minutes. I didn't want the edges, which had baked perfectly, to burn so I shut off my oven and let it sit in there for a little while longer till it was mostly done. Still, the center is a little under-done. Whatever, that's fine. I did add in some cocoa powder because I thought it was weird none was used. Then, for the frosting, it came out PERFECT. I reduced sugar to 3 C. because 4 c. seemed like too much. I used chocolate chips and 3 TBS of cocoa powder + a little bit of water (eyeballed it, as needed) and stuck it in the microwave for 1 1/2 mins. Didn't make the ganache, I can live without it ;) Overall, really good recipe, probably will use again, at least the frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is absolutely the best chocolate cake I've ever had! I've made it 3 times and the first time it was perfect. One layer has fallen the last 2 times, but I just filled in the hole with ganache and everyone loved it. I made it for a group of 8 last night and we only ate 1/3 because it's so rich. However, we're meeting again tonight and dessert is already made! The proportions of cake to ganache to frosting are perfect for those of us who like lots of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rct1908
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This cake is very rich. I cut each layer into 2 and ended up with a 6 layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is a great recipe, but the first time I made it, the two cake pans overflowed in the oven, so the next time I used 3 cake pans. Does she really mean egg YOLK? in the frosting? I used egg white. Marvelous birthday cake for a marvelous friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I've never given a review before, but this came out so wonderful I just had to let you know. I took it to our Wed. night meeting at church for a birthday. I got raves from everyone, except 2 of our 13, who don't care for chocolate. I pretty much went exactly by the recipie, but took advice from one review and instead of hot water added a cup of strong hot coffee. Also I didn't have enough bittersweet chocolate, so I used 1 C of milk chocolate for the ganache, but it was perfect. I don't usually make layered cakes, sooo.. I put the top layer the wrong side up, but not to worry, I pretty much covered that up w/frosting. I used one container of rasberries, and I definitely recommend that. I put them around the bottom and on top. I also took another recommendation an prepared some sweetened whipped cream. Most of us tried that but felt it didn't add anything, rather it distracted from the cake taste. I still have a little left in a Tupperware cake taker in the fridge, had no trouble with it drying out. Elizabethbh, thank you so much. I wish I'd taken a picture but I wasn't expecting it to be that good. Now it DID take longer than 1 hour, but I think I could do a lot better than that with practice. Also now allowance must be considered for cooling of things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
loved this recipe!!! My husband is a serious chocolate LOVER so this sounded just perfect for me to make for his birthday cake this year. It turned out amazing, it was moist and just delicious. One thing i did is i dug into the cake a little to make a small bowl shape that i poured my ganache into and chilled it made it perfect. I recomend this to all my friends when they ask for a good cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and the cake turned out wonderfully. My only addition was that I garnished it was chocolate shavings on the top and raspberries around the bottom (also helps hide flaws). It was extremely time consuming but well worth it and everyone commented how professional it looked. I made the buttercream frosting the night before and took it out of the fridge a few hours before the cake was done to let it get back to room temperature and re-whipped it in the mixer to soften it a bit. Like others suggested I made the ganache before the cake and put it in the fridge for a bit once it cooled. The cake itself was not very sweet so it was complemented very well but the rich, chocolatelyness of the ganache and buttercream frosting. I will definitely make this again for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is soooo good. It reminds me of the double chocolate cake at buca di beppo. The only changes that I would make would be to not use the frosting and just go with the ganache and maybe add some fresh strawberries. The cake and the ganche are so good on their own and the frosting is delicious also but when added to the cake and ganche it is too much fat and sugar for me. I used gheridelli bittersweet chocolate for the ganache and omg, it was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States