Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is a wonderful chocolate cake! I made this cake for a special meal I was making for a friend. She loved it! I made it the next week for my family. They really enjoyed it. I made it a third time a week later for my grandmother's birthday. It was once again a hit. My one tip is to be aware that the package of bittersweet chocolate chips no longer come in 12 ounce packages, so they are no longer 2 cups of chips. This is even better the second day if it lasts that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This is both my hubby and my favourite cake. My only change is 2 teaspoons of vanilla instead of tablespoons in the icing and no egg yolk, I add a tablespoon and a bit of cream to make up for the liquid loss. Also, I don't know if my oven is running hot but but I only bake it in two pans and cook it for 28 minutes. Have used semi-sweet chocolate on occasion also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissNikki
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I have made this cake a few times now and it normally doesn't last long before it's completely gone. Some of the changes I made is using milk chocolate for the ganache and small amount of almond extract with the butter cream frosting. Defiantly let cool while assembling and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made this cake a while back and I will say it's probably the best chocolate cake I had. For an inexperienced bake with very little and cheep equipment it was a major hassle but worth all 6 hours. This time around I'm marketing two of them. One for my wife and one for the lady who gave me her $600 kitchen aid mixer. I've had a little more exp. with baking and I invested in some decent tools so I was able to make both in a little over the specified time. I did use half semi sweet and half bittersweet chocolate for the ganache. Bottom line it my go to cake for when I want to impress people and if u make it twice it's easy to make after. It will cost about 20 bux for all the stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Worth EVERY CALORIE. A delicious, moist, deeply chocolate cake... the kind one craves with a glass (or several glasses) of milk. Tip: One of those big 1lb (?) chocolate bars from Trader Joe's--the darkest one, is just enough chocolate for this cake. And it's just $5 bucks; amazing deal for Belgian chocolate. It is 72% cacao if I recall and has just a touch of sweetness, so I adjusted the sugar in the recipe down just a bit--like 1/2 cup. Anyway, THANK YOU ELIZABETH, for your extremely good Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Great flavor and I did not use the kind of chocolate called for in the recipe, I used dark chocolate I had on hand. Very rich cake that baked up better than I thought considering the batter consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Made this today for a birthday. It was all good and then i went to bake it. Nothing went TOO wrong but the center of the cake wasn't completely done and I left it in for 15+ more minutes. I didn't want the edges, which had baked perfectly, to burn so I shut off my oven and let it sit in there for a little while longer till it was mostly done. Still, the center is a little under-done. Whatever, that's fine. I did add in some cocoa powder because I thought it was weird none was used. Then, for the frosting, it came out PERFECT. I reduced sugar to 3 C. because 4 c. seemed like too much. I used chocolate chips and 3 TBS of cocoa powder + a little bit of water (eyeballed it, as needed) and stuck it in the microwave for 1 1/2 mins. Didn't make the ganache, I can live without it ;) Overall, really good recipe, probably will use again, at least the frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is absolutely the best chocolate cake I've ever had! I've made it 3 times and the first time it was perfect. One layer has fallen the last 2 times, but I just filled in the hole with ganache and everyone loved it. I made it for a group of 8 last night and we only ate 1/3 because it's so rich. However, we're meeting again tonight and dessert is already made! The proportions of cake to ganache to frosting are perfect for those of us who like lots of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rct1908
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This cake is very rich. I cut each layer into 2 and ended up with a 6 layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States