Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Use Frymamas tips.. made the 3 layer version. Just enough frosting for 3 layers. Only change was to use 1 cup boiling coffee instead of water. (coffee intensifies choclate flavor)Great look... great taste. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by two2luv
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
WOW!!! So much better than a mix and canned icing. The chocolate flavor is to die for. Sweet, but not too sweet. Very rich! This recipe easily makes TWICE the icing that you need for a two layer cake. Next time I plan to make four layers, but I think that it's still too much. Leave our the egg yolk, and don't bother beating the butter for 10 minutes. The icing recipe is unneccesarily difficult. You can really dump everything together and mix it that way. Either way, very very very yummy. I made it for my husband for valentines day, but i can't WAIT to make it for company next time!! Had to come back and add - even BETTER the second time!!! And try adding a cup of hot coffee to the mix instead of water. It enhances the chocolate flavor. I did four layers instead of two - it makes for a HUGE cake. Ganache between each layer. Added shaved white chocolate to the top. The birthday girl RAVED and now everyone wants me to make this cake for their birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I'm and experienced baker, and made this cake for a chocolate-loving friend's birhtday, and he loved it. This cake is chocolatey, and not overly sweet. For anyone having trouble with this cake, here's what I did: 1. always grease and flour your baking pans, then place parchment paper in them, and grease and flour (use cocoa for a chocolate cake) the paper. My cakes never stick when I do this. 2. The butter to sugar ratio in this recipe is low, it just won't cream. This is no big deal, the cake will still turn out well. Just go ahead and add one egg and then begin creaming. 3. Beat the butter/sugar/egg mixture at least two minutes, then add another egg, beat two more minutes, add the third egg, beat at least two more minutes. 4. This recipe will fill 3 9-in. cake pans if each one is filled slightly less than halfway. This makes an impressive looking cake when ganache and frosting is spread between each layer. 5. To make the ganache, boil the cream over medium heat, then add the chocolate chips, lower the heat, and whisk briskly until smooth. 6. This recipe's buttercream frosting is good, but unnecessarily complicated. Just cream the butter, mix the cream, vanilla and chocolate together,alternately add it and the confectioner's sugar to the creamed butter, then the cream cheese. I found the frosting too thick, so I added 3 tbs. milk. I left out the egg yolk completely. 7. Cake assembly-pour the ganache in the center of each layer, then carefully spread it just to the edge. Chil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This cake is amazing! It was actually the home-made cake I ever made! I made it for my friends birthday, and everyone at the party enjoyed it, especially the ganach. I had no problems making it, at all. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I started making this cake 3 years ago when I was 9 months pregnant and starving and waiting around to give birth. I make it every year now for my dad's birthday. I top it with homemade truffles or shaved coconut. I use dark chocolate to help cut the sweetness plus my family hates milk. Every time I make it I change something a little here or there but this is by far the best chocolate cake I've ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I expected this cake to be moist. I made it for my daughter's birthday. What a disapointment. It was so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I made this cake for a coworkers birthday party. He suggested that I make a simple box cake, but where's the fun in that? After everyone had tried it they said it was the best chocolate cake they had ever had! I doubled the recipe and made a 4 layer cake. The first batch I added regular water instead of boiling because the ingredients didn't specify temperature. It turned out fine, maybe a little denser. And there is a flaw with the vanilla; the ingredients say 1 1/2 tablespoons vanilla and the directions say 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla. I used 1 1/2 teaspoons and it turned out great. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
If you love chocolate, this is the cake for you. I've always thought that I had the ability to handle alot of chocolate, but this cake proved otherwise. It was delicious, but I had to eat very small slices at a time because it was so rich! Works better for your waistline that way, though. Great recipe and fairly easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copperbug

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I only made the cake and I followed the directions exactly. It was rich, moist, and dense. I would definitely make it again. If you want a perfect looking cake just make sure there is no extra flour in the pans when you put the batter in (the batter absorbed the excess flour and the edges came out crumbly), but it was still a delicious birthday dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
The cake does come out a little dry, but I noticed that the ganache on the bottom layer sealed the cake and kept it moist. I couldn't taste it on the cake, however my mom says she did the 2nd day. She loves ganache and would have been happy w/just ganache and not the butter cream icing - which I loved. There is too much icing over all, but next time I think I'll slice each cake in 1/2 so that I have 4 layers to ice. It's a lot of work but it's worth it. I made it for mother's day/my mom's birthday and she loved it! Give it try! A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States