Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I started making this cake 3 years ago when I was 9 months pregnant and starving and waiting around to give birth. I make it every year now for my dad's birthday. I top it with homemade truffles or shaved coconut. I use dark chocolate to help cut the sweetness plus my family hates milk. Every time I make it I change something a little here or there but this is by far the best chocolate cake I've ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I expected this cake to be moist. I made it for my daughter's birthday. What a disapointment. It was so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I made this cake for a coworkers birthday party. He suggested that I make a simple box cake, but where's the fun in that? After everyone had tried it they said it was the best chocolate cake they had ever had! I doubled the recipe and made a 4 layer cake. The first batch I added regular water instead of boiling because the ingredients didn't specify temperature. It turned out fine, maybe a little denser. And there is a flaw with the vanilla; the ingredients say 1 1/2 tablespoons vanilla and the directions say 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla. I used 1 1/2 teaspoons and it turned out great. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
If you love chocolate, this is the cake for you. I've always thought that I had the ability to handle alot of chocolate, but this cake proved otherwise. It was delicious, but I had to eat very small slices at a time because it was so rich! Works better for your waistline that way, though. Great recipe and fairly easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copperbug

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I only made the cake and I followed the directions exactly. It was rich, moist, and dense. I would definitely make it again. If you want a perfect looking cake just make sure there is no extra flour in the pans when you put the batter in (the batter absorbed the excess flour and the edges came out crumbly), but it was still a delicious birthday dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
The cake does come out a little dry, but I noticed that the ganache on the bottom layer sealed the cake and kept it moist. I couldn't taste it on the cake, however my mom says she did the 2nd day. She loves ganache and would have been happy w/just ganache and not the butter cream icing - which I loved. There is too much icing over all, but next time I think I'll slice each cake in 1/2 so that I have 4 layers to ice. It's a lot of work but it's worth it. I made it for mother's day/my mom's birthday and she loved it! Give it try! A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I'm a pretty good cook, but kind of a hit or miss baker, so I was a bit scared after reading some reviews. This was my first time making a cake and frosting from scratch but the cake came out perfect. I'm usually not one for chocolate cake or frosting but I do LOVE rich, dark chocolates and this cake totally satisfied my chocolate tooth. It was decadent! I used mostly 70% cocoa for all the chocolate, and made the frosting and ganache first. I did have to reheat the ganache a little bit to get it to spread but then let it chill before adding the frosting. The cake alone is absolutely delicious even without the toppings, I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I was asked to make a dark chocolate cake for a friends birthday party last weekend. Although I am an above average cook I hate to bake. Since I couldn't say no I came looking for a recipe. This one was PERFECT!! I used 71% chocolate in the cake. Made a ghiradelli semi sweet mousse for the center and covered it in 1/2 dark, 1/2 semi sweet ganache. We served it with vanilla ice cream with hazelnut espresso vodka drizzled over both. I have never gotten so many compliments on anything. The presentation was stunning and the taste amazing. The cake did fit perfectly in 2 - 9 in. pans. It did look spongy still when I took it out but I took it out at the correct time anyway to avoid dryness. The tops of both cakes did sink in slightly but had no effect on the decoration of the cake. This will probably be the only chocolate cake I will ever make. At least when I am looking for a dark chocolate cake. I did not make the frosting so I cannot evaluate that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Mott, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I LOVED THIS CAKE AND HAVE TO SAY THAT ANY CAKE THAT YOU CAN MAKE SOME CHANGES TO AND IT STILL COME'S OUT VERY GOOD IS A WINNER IN MY BOOK ARE SHOULD I SAY IN MY RECIPES BOX. OK FIRST I DIDN'T HAVE 6 (1 ounce)UNSWEETENED CHOCOLATE I ONLY HAD ABOUT 3 {1 OUNCE }SQUARES SO I THAT AND I USED WHITE CHOCOLATE CHIPS AND ABOUT 4 TABLESSPOONS OF CREAM TO MELT THE CHOCOLATE AND I ALSO DIDN'T HAVE THAT MUCH DARK BROWN SUGAR SO I USED 1/2 CUP WHITE AND I DIDN'T HAVE SOUR CREAM AT ALL SO I USED BUTTERMILK AND I ONLY USED ABOUT 1/4 CUP OF WATER ,1/2 TEASPOON OF FRENCH VANILLA EXTRACT AND THE CAKE CAME OUT SOFT AND TASTY I PUT BUTTER CREAME FROSTING BETWEEN THE LAYERS AND TOP IT WITH CHOCOLATE GANACHE I USED ONLY 3 OUNCES OF BITTERSWEET CHOCLATE ,6 OUNCES OF WHITE CHOCOLATE CHIPES AND 2/3 cup OF HEAVY CREAM AND IT WAS TO DIE FOR SO THANKS FOR YOUR POST IT HELP ME IN SO MANY WAYS AND YES I DID MAKE SOME CHANGES BUT NOT THAT MANY AND MY CAKE WAS VERY VERY GOOD. THANKS SO MUCH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I've been making this cake for a while now, it is always the request of my friends for their birthdays. Very rich, very chocolately. It is almost required to eat it with vanilla ice cream. I serve it chilled as well to keep it fudgy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States