Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
The best chocolate cake ever--a family favorite that we only make occasionally because it's so rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mainz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Great cake! Made this for a dinner for 5 birthday celebrants, & they all loved it ~ couldn't stop talking about it! The waiter & the table next to us also tried it & raved about it. Now I did do something unusual to personalize it for the celebrants who were all from New Mexico, a state that loves its chiles so much that chiles are the official State Vegetable! I added NM hot green chile jam to the cake batter (1/3 cup jam per 9" layer) & NM red chile powder to the ganache. A total & memorable success! The addition of jam to the cake batter of course affected the texture, but it was still terrific: moist & rather dense. I will make it again without those changes & update my review later. ~~ I chose another frosting (butter cream which I also spiked with red chile powder) - because I did not want the raw yolk of this recipe's frosting. ~~ The bottom layer was frosted, chilled in fridge to firm, then the thick fluid of ganache was poured & spread over that. For a very easy decorating method, I put some ganache into a squirt bottle. Alternatively, liquid ganache can be poured over each layer. Note: for easy & perfect removal from pans, line pan bottom with wax paper trimmed to fit it. Grease it & the sides, then dust it all with a mixture of flour & cocoa powder. Adding cocoa powder prevents the appearance of a film of white flour contrasting against the dark chocolate ~ an old baker's trick. Allow pans to cool on racks for 10 mins. before turning out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This cake was amazing! Even 3 days later was still as moist as day one! I didn't use the icing, I used a ganache, thickened for the middle and smooth for the overall cake. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angel

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
over rated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This cake is amazing! The sour cream adds such a moistness to the cake - it turned out perfectly - I didn't have to add any time or change anything. As another person mentioned, I would recommend making the icing and Ganache before making the cake. This allows the Ganache to cool to a thicker consistency and makes it VERY easy to work with! I will be using this recipe again and again - the icing is incredible! It tastes and looks like something out of a fancy bakery! 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This is a great recipe....but a little advice on the ganache and buttercream. The professional trick to a ganache cake is to ice it in buttercream first, then chill for about an hour. Make the ganache and pour it over the whole cake. You will get a very smooth effect that looks awesome. With as much ganache as this recipe makes, you could do two pours, resting about 5 minutes between each, and get a really good coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Saxon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Excellent! Definitely takes a little experience if you've not baked much. I followed the advice of some other posters to ensure success. I almost forgot to add the boiling water which would have been tragic! I had no problems with the batter. I did have to cut the "hump" off of the top of my bottom layer. Definitely need to let the ganache harden a little for easier use. Seemed to make a ton of ganache, and I had to discard the rest. The buttercream frosting is to die for! I had to add additional cream though because my mixer couldn't handle the thickness. Also, for the middle, put the buttercream frosting on first, then the ganache, because the buttercream won't spread over ganache. I also used piping to decorate. I had to keep adding cream to the frosting for piping consistency. I also have so much buttercream frosting left- not sure where the original baker used it all. Takes about 3 hours to make, but well worth the time. Sinfully delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Metamora, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This is a great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
this is the most fantastic cake ever!! I actually made it twice once i took to a friend as a trial and they fought over the last piece then i took one to work and there was also nothing left over. I do agree that this is a very time consuming cake to make but if you follow the instructions it comes out perfect. I defiently will make this cake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
excellent! i used cake flour instead of all-purpose. added a little cocoa powder for extra choc. flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States