Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Thank you. Was a big hit. Great recipe, easy instructions. Found my new favourite Cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I made this cake for my husband for valentines day this year. It is an excellent tasting cake...we really liked the cream cheese buttercream frosting and it absolutely cures that after dinner chocolate craving. I didn't give it 5 stars because it was VERY time consuming. The steps and ingredients were very basic, it just took a long time to prepare. I would suggest making only half of the ganache this recipe calls for and it will be plenty. Overall a very good recipe - definitely something to make for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This sounds good. if you like this cake, try Oprah's Chocolate Mousse Cake, it is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura M
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This cake recipe was FANTASTIC!!!! I had no problems with the actual cake itself. The ganache went well. I made sure to chill it after spreading the ganache over the first layer, and the buttercream spread well on top. I think next time I will try to have more ganache between the two layers. But it was delicious! I added a garnish of sweetened whipped cream on top of each piece to counteract the bitterness of the ganache. It was delicious, and everyone raved about it! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This was a fabulous cake! I would call it a 'mud cake'. Very dense rich and amazing!!!!! yum, I got rave reviews about this. I made it chocolate/orange flavored for my husbands birthday party. I didn't have any unsweetened chocolate so I had to use the substitute recommended on AR (cocoa and oil). It turned out great, but I would love to try it with the actual chocolate. Oh, and I used mostly natural yogurt instead of sour cream. Beautiful, thanks so much ElizabethBH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
The best chocolate cake ever--a family favorite that we only make occasionally because it's so rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mainz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Great cake! Made this for a dinner for 5 birthday celebrants, & they all loved it ~ couldn't stop talking about it! The waiter & the table next to us also tried it & raved about it. Now I did do something unusual to personalize it for the celebrants who were all from New Mexico, a state that loves its chiles so much that chiles are the official State Vegetable! I added NM hot green chile jam to the cake batter (1/3 cup jam per 9" layer) & NM red chile powder to the ganache. A total & memorable success! The addition of jam to the cake batter of course affected the texture, but it was still terrific: moist & rather dense. I will make it again without those changes & update my review later. ~~ I chose another frosting (butter cream which I also spiked with red chile powder) - because I did not want the raw yolk of this recipe's frosting. ~~ The bottom layer was frosted, chilled in fridge to firm, then the thick fluid of ganache was poured & spread over that. For a very easy decorating method, I put some ganache into a squirt bottle. Alternatively, liquid ganache can be poured over each layer. Note: for easy & perfect removal from pans, line pan bottom with wax paper trimmed to fit it. Grease it & the sides, then dust it all with a mixture of flour & cocoa powder. Adding cocoa powder prevents the appearance of a film of white flour contrasting against the dark chocolate ~ an old baker's trick. Allow pans to cool on racks for 10 mins. before turning out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This cake was amazing! Even 3 days later was still as moist as day one! I didn't use the icing, I used a ganache, thickened for the middle and smooth for the overall cake. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angel

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
over rated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This cake is amazing! The sour cream adds such a moistness to the cake - it turned out perfectly - I didn't have to add any time or change anything. As another person mentioned, I would recommend making the icing and Ganache before making the cake. This allows the Ganache to cool to a thicker consistency and makes it VERY easy to work with! I will be using this recipe again and again - the icing is incredible! It tastes and looks like something out of a fancy bakery! 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States