Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Totally awesome! Everyone LOVED it. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Wonderful recipe. Extremely rich, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This was amazing and so delicious. It took the entire afternoon to make though. I also think that you could get away with making half the amount of ganache. I agree with the other reviewers that the icing is hard to spread. Overall though, this was absolutely delicious and worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This recipe was a-m-a-z-i-n-g!! Although I did not make the frosting recipe because I ran out of chocolate, It tasted just as well with the store bought icing I thankfully had stored on my shelves. I can not imagine a bad review on this recipe, It turns out perfectly. I debated over even putting the frosting on the cake because it was so rich and moist. Tasted like a browne, even better! I recommend this to chocolate lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily Powell
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Extremely moist. The ganache is soooooo goood. Kind of hard to ice because the icing is so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This recipe confused me. 1) 2 1/2 C br suger to 1/2 C butter? When I creamed it in the Kitchen Aide, it just clumped up. I added an additional 1/2 C butter. Too much sugar or not enough butter? 2) I mixed the melted chocolate (I used melted semi-sweet chocolate chips) with the water and sour cream - I could not see any purpose is not doing so before adding to the batter. 3) This made a 3 layer cake that fell in the center. 4) The batter was not as thin as the receipe indicated it would be. I made this cake because of all the wonderful reviews. But no one mentioned the sugar/butter issue or the volumn of batter. Just me, or a problem with the receipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This cake is fantastic! It got rav reviews from friends and family alike. I have a friend who asks me if I made it again almost everytime I see her! Personal Preference - I make the ganache and the frosting FIRST. Then the cake. By the time the cake is cooled the ganache and frosting are perfect spreading consistencies. And sometimes I use semi-sweet chocolate for the ganache - it depends what is in the cupboard. It's the perfect chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This was the first cake I ever made, and boy did it come out perfectly! I found that it made a tad too much icing and ganache, but we just dipped strawberries in them the next day ;) Make this, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Yum!! 'Twas a chocolatey explosion. I baked this for my sister-in-law for her birthday and it was a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This is an excellent Chocolate cake to make. The cake part is so moist and almost brownie like that you could eat it just like that with no frosting at all. I ended up adding some sugar to the ganache filling cause I thought it was a tad too bitter for me. I also used Parchment paper to line my pans and they almost fell out it was so easy to remove from the pans. The frosting is a little thick and heavy and was kinda hard to spread over the Ganache filling. All in all I would make this again. I am having a dinner party tonight and will let you know what others think about it...This is a very very chocolate cake with a nice frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States