Elisa's Famous Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I haven't actually made this yet, but I will say that if you are going to make this recipe (take this from someone who has made TONS of fudge) increase the amount of chips (morsels)! This recipe calls for only 3/4 cup of each kind of morsel...when I make this, I am going to use 1.5 cups EACH. Based on the amounts of other ingredients in this recipe, you need around 3 cups of chips TOTAL for this to come out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I changed the recipe a little bit. I used 2 cups mini marshmallows and 2 cups bittersweet chocolate but omitted the nuts. This was my first try at fudge and I was very impressed by the simplicity of the recipe. Measure out all of your ingredients before hand so that you can quickly mix in the chocolate, vanilla and marshmallow. Make sure that you let it set completely before cuting into squares. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Perfect results; very easy and delicious. I called it Chocolate Butter Pecan fudge and my family loved it. One note - I found the butterscotch taste to dominate the chocolate, so if you prefer more of a chocolatly fudge, adjust the proportions of the morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I have made recipes similar to this one(using marshmallow fluff and evaporated milk) many times. This one was a huge disappointment. First, there is too much milk in this recipe, causing the fudge to not set up properly. Another recipe I have that makes a 9 x 13 pan also uses 2/3 cup milk. This recipe only makes an 8 inch square pan. Secondly, there is not enough chocolate and or butterscotch chips to give the fudge flavor. The marshmallow creme dominates, and while it is fluffy, the result is fudge that is too creamy, almost to the point of being sticky. The fudge is a very whitish brown, and has little chocolate flavor. I will not make this fudge again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Very nice recipe and easy to modify based on types of chips you use. Taste was a little too butterscotch for me, so next time I would use more chocolate and less butterscotch. This fudge was very, very soft and creamy and if you like your fudge that way then you'll love this recipe. I like my fudge creamy, but a little firmer so I would suggest increasing the amount of chips you use to 2 cups. Will make this again, but next time will try using Nestle milk chocolate/caramel chip swirls and semi-sweet chips to make a "turtle" fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Wonderful! I agree with SweetTooth that the butterscotch taste dominates. We plan on making this again today and using all chocolate morsels. My hubby made this entirely by himself so I rate it a 5 for ease! It set up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Mis-catagorized, this recipe contains gluten and should not be used as a gluten-free dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
This delicious confection of chocolate, and sweets, is one of the most amazing fudges among them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Did not set up - the consistancy was similar to the inside of a 3 Muskateers bar - soft and fluffy. Taste was fine, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I loved the flavor, but didnt like the consistancy as it never seemed to set up right. Next time I will try some of the other users' suggestions and increase the amount of chocolate or decrease the amount of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States