Elin's Pickled Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Just like my German grandmother made! I would add some notes: 1. Do not use carving pumpkin. Use pie or sugar pumpkins - they are smaller and in my area were labeled "pie" pumpkins. Carving pumpkins and pie pumpkins are NOT the same. Right after Thanksgiving, the priced dropped by half. 2. I followed the reciped exactly. You might be tempted to cook longer than five minutes because the pumpkin will not be completely translucent. DON'T do it! 5 minutes at a rolling boil is just right. They will continue to get translucent after removing from heat. This recipe yields a sweet/sour, flavorful, crisp pickle. 3. 5 pie pumpkins = 7+ lbs. of uncooked pumpkin and 8 qts. pickled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
Everyone wants this recipe! It tastes great and is something truly different for the Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
I was thrilled to find this recipe. Now I can carry on a tradition started by my late mother. It is quite simple. The pickled pumpkin is delightfully sweet, sour, and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I have been searching for this recipe for years! My mother always made it, and I never thought to get the recipe until after she passed away...and then no recipe could be found. Thank you! Thank you! You've made my day! This recipe makes 12 1/2 pts. Great gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Aside from the labor of peeling and cutting the pumpkin, this came out great and my friends at work all asked for the recipe. What a unique addition to the relish tray. PS a couple years after my original review, this is now an annual event to look forward to and my toddler thinks these pickles are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Amazing!!!! I was not sure how the final product would taste - especially serving it to foreigners who only use pumpkin for soup. It was delicious!!! I will probably include jars of this in my christmas food baskets this year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is excellent. Served a portion for a chanukkah party and all guests raved!!! I will be jarring and giving the rest as gifts. Also I added jarred jalepeno juice to 1/2 of the recipe that added an interesting dimension for those that like a little extra zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Really good and different. Cutting up the pumpkin was serious work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SairajB
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
These are beyond addictive! Followed the recipe to the letter and they came out perfect. Crispy, sweet and tart, they were a hit at Halloween. Next batch gets canned and sent to friends and family. Yes, they're THAT good! Thank you so much, Elin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Unique and rather good! The recipe is perfect as is, I did not need to make modifications to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States