Elin's Pickled Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Just like my German grandmother made! I would add some notes: 1. Do not use carving pumpkin. Use pie or sugar pumpkins - they are smaller and in my area were labeled "pie" pumpkins. Carving pumpkins and pie pumpkins are NOT the same. Right after Thanksgiving, the priced dropped by half. 2. I followed the reciped exactly. You might be tempted to cook longer than five minutes because the pumpkin will not be completely translucent. DON'T do it! 5 minutes at a rolling boil is just right. They will continue to get translucent after removing from heat. This recipe yields a sweet/sour, flavorful, crisp pickle. 3. 5 pie pumpkins = 7+ lbs. of uncooked pumpkin and 8 qts. pickled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
Everyone wants this recipe! It tastes great and is something truly different for the Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
I was thrilled to find this recipe. Now I can carry on a tradition started by my late mother. It is quite simple. The pickled pumpkin is delightfully sweet, sour, and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I have been searching for this recipe for years! My mother always made it, and I never thought to get the recipe until after she passed away...and then no recipe could be found. Thank you! Thank you! You've made my day! This recipe makes 12 1/2 pts. Great gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Aside from the labor of peeling and cutting the pumpkin, this came out great and my friends at work all asked for the recipe. What a unique addition to the relish tray. PS a couple years after my original review, this is now an annual event to look forward to and my toddler thinks these pickles are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Amazing!!!! I was not sure how the final product would taste - especially serving it to foreigners who only use pumpkin for soup. It was delicious!!! I will probably include jars of this in my christmas food baskets this year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is excellent. Served a portion for a chanukkah party and all guests raved!!! I will be jarring and giving the rest as gifts. Also I added jarred jalepeno juice to 1/2 of the recipe that added an interesting dimension for those that like a little extra zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Really good and different. Cutting up the pumpkin was serious work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SairajB
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
These are beyond addictive! Followed the recipe to the letter and they came out perfect. Crispy, sweet and tart, they were a hit at Halloween. Next batch gets canned and sent to friends and family. Yes, they're THAT good! Thank you so much, Elin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by HKR
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I would never choose to make anything called picked pumpkin, but since this recipe received five stars from every reviewer and I had a spare pumpkin, I thought I would try it. I have never done anything with a pumpkin except carve a face into it before this. Overall I thought it turned out great and was easy to make. I used a small white pie pumpkin (never saw one before so I bought it) and when I cut it up, it yielded 1.3 lbs so I adjusted the rest of the recipe accordingly. I followed the directions as written, but I needed to boil it the second time for more than five minutes. I kept adding two and three minutes at a time since it was not looking translucent. I probably boiled it 15 minutes total and then I let it set in the pan to cool. It continued to turn more translucent as it cooled and did not appear to be over cooked. My batch fit perfectly into a one quart mason jar. After being in the fridge a few hours I tasted it. It was nice and crisp without being hard or chewy. It’s also more sweet than sour. I am going to serve it on my relish tray for Thanksgiving and I bet know one will guess what they are eating (haha!). I think the recipe as written will yield about three quarts of picked pumpkin based on weight of my portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HKR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States