Elijah's Phulourie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I had all the ingredients on hand--believe it or not--except the self-rising flour. I had a little all-purpose flour and a little whole wheat flour. So, I sifted the two together with salt, sugar and baking powder to create self-rising flour. Also, I had on hand Urad flour, which is black bean flour. I went ahead and mixed everything together and into the oil it went. The fritters came out golden, light, spongy and so flavorful. Add mango chutney to that and what a wonderful treat! It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INDRIANI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I had to go out and buy yogurt, this was so tasty. Couldn't find split pea flour, so I used my blender and made my own. And used the "self-rising flour" on this site. Lot's of work for my first batch, yes, but I knew it looked good. I am glad I have leftover batter, more every day. This is going to be my India food week, along with Elijah's Phulouries, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
i've been making this since i was a little girl. My family has a traditional hand grinder that we grind basically the same ingredients into. I dont think that this beats that in taste but it was a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I like these! I burned them--I'm just not so good at frying. I think I'll make them into patties next time and eat them like hamburgers--with chutney of course! I used my small cookie scoop to make the balls, so they were kind of big. Maybe that was my problem. Oh, well. I had to go on a bit of a search for the split pea flour, but found in an international market. Best I can tell it's chickpea flour, so that's what I bought. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
WOW! These were great! I had to end up making my own split pea flour. Which my processor didn't like. But otherwise these were easy adn yummy. I used fresh chives from my garden instead of green onion and added a pinch of cayenne. My friends and family loved this also. I ate them with cilantro chutney!!!!I ordered some split pea flour and will making them again tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I just made these - they are fragrant and flavorful! One note: I needed double the amount of water to get a thick batter (I used 1.5 cups). I also used "gram flour", which, based on the packaging, I assume is the same as split pea flour (it is yellow lentil flour). In the future I would increase the amounts of both types of onions (I did so after I tried the first batch), and perhaps experiment by adding peas. A nice dish overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I personalized this recipe by using garbanzo bean flour instead of the split pea flour, iand rye flour (as the self rising flour). I cooked this as if they were pancakes. Great flavor! Easy to make! I'll be making this again. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I think that the onion spoiled this recipe. If I make it again, I would omit the onion and use less garlic. Make sure it is the split pea flour that comes from the Caribbean; it comes in a package or make your own by soaking the peas overnight and then grinding it. I bought some in the market, but it was not the best, the taste was not right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I used different seasonings so I can't comment on flavour but I'm commenting on texture instead. This recipe has too much dhaal (split pea flour) for my tastes and the second time I made it I added a little more flour and baking powder. That was more to my liking. My family really enjoyed this - both times and both ways I made it. Thanks JWARD for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

How To Make Tempura

Learn the Japanese method for making delicate batter-fried seafood and veggies.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States