Elena's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These are pretty awesome. I melted the butter and just mixed the wet and dry ingredients and combined the two. Then I spread the batter on a cookie sheet and cut into bars with a pizza cutter when cooled. I reduced the sugar to just 3/4 cup and only used brown. They freeze really well so I just leave out six bars at a time and when those are gone I pull six more bars from the freezer till it is all used up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made these for my toddlers but I like them a lot too! I have a lot of baby cereal that the kids will not eat anymore so I was happy to find a good recipe to use it up. These are soft and have a light sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Excellent recipe! I didn't change a thing, except I spread the batter in an 8x8 glass baking dish and baked it for about 30 minutes. It turned out to be 16 very moist bars. I am looking forward to getting rid of excess baby cereal by making these several more times. Thank you for the recipe! My husband, toddler and I all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I really liked these. I made them for my daughter (18 mos) and she didn't really like them (she doesn't eat much though). But I did. They were soft and cake-like and when they come straight out of the oven they are slightly crispy on the outside, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I made these but used acontainer of sugar free blueberry applesauce. Since I didn't have the cereal, I used about 4-5 packages of blueberry instant oatmeal. They turned out delicious... Great and hearty but also sweet and blueberry! One note, if you make the switch to oatmeal, make sure you use enough or they will turn out pancakey. (look for a normal "dough" consistency). Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I'm giving it 4 stars but only because I made changes...the end result was definately worth a 5. I used 1 cup whole old-fashioned oats instead of baby cereal, I used 2 bananas instead of applesauce, added only 1 stick of organic butter, and I added an extra 1/4 cup flour. It still seemed to thin so I placed the dough in my mini-muffin cups. PERFECT!! My kids gobbled them up - begged for more. I think this is as "healthy" as a great tasting cookie can get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I had plenty of leftover infant cereal to use up, and these cookies were very good. They do come out a bit moist, but when they're cooled they taste just fine. Even got the toddlers to eat them great. Not too sweet for me, but if you like sweet cookies, add a bit more sugar or applesauce to sweeten 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I didn't change a thing, and they turned out wonderful - soft, not overly sweet, vanilla-nutty flavor. Thank you Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Good job! I made this one with my kids today and we all loved it. A few alterations turned out to make a delicious and healthy (relatively speaking) cookie. I doubled the recipe (I have 4 kids and a vacuum for a husband). I substituted half whole wheat flour with the all purp, and reduced the butter to 1c. I, also reduced the brown sugar by 1/2, and they were still pretty sweet. Next time I'll probably reduce the white sugar, too. Oh, it really helped to chill this dough before baking, too! I definitly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
These were so moist that they were hard to get off of the cookies sheet. I even added more flour to the recipe. I like the ingredients, and the taste is fine. But if stacked they stick together, and I had to throw out the first batch because they would not come off the pan without becoming a lump of mooshed cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States