Elena's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I'm giving it 4 stars but only because I made changes...the end result was definately worth a 5. I used 1 cup whole old-fashioned oats instead of baby cereal, I used 2 bananas instead of applesauce, added only 1 stick of organic butter, and I added an extra 1/4 cup flour. It still seemed to thin so I placed the dough in my mini-muffin cups. PERFECT!! My kids gobbled them up - begged for more. I think this is as "healthy" as a great tasting cookie can get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Good job! I made this one with my kids today and we all loved it. A few alterations turned out to make a delicious and healthy (relatively speaking) cookie. I doubled the recipe (I have 4 kids and a vacuum for a husband). I substituted half whole wheat flour with the all purp, and reduced the butter to 1c. I, also reduced the brown sugar by 1/2, and they were still pretty sweet. Next time I'll probably reduce the white sugar, too. Oh, it really helped to chill this dough before baking, too! I definitly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I made these but used acontainer of sugar free blueberry applesauce. Since I didn't have the cereal, I used about 4-5 packages of blueberry instant oatmeal. They turned out delicious... Great and hearty but also sweet and blueberry! One note, if you make the switch to oatmeal, make sure you use enough or they will turn out pancakey. (look for a normal "dough" consistency). Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These are pretty awesome. I melted the butter and just mixed the wet and dry ingredients and combined the two. Then I spread the batter on a cookie sheet and cut into bars with a pizza cutter when cooled. I reduced the sugar to just 3/4 cup and only used brown. They freeze really well so I just leave out six bars at a time and when those are gone I pull six more bars from the freezer till it is all used up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Excellent recipe! I didn't change a thing, except I spread the batter in an 8x8 glass baking dish and baked it for about 30 minutes. It turned out to be 16 very moist bars. I am looking forward to getting rid of excess baby cereal by making these several more times. Thank you for the recipe! My husband, toddler and I all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I really liked these. I made them for my daughter (18 mos) and she didn't really like them (she doesn't eat much though). But I did. They were soft and cake-like and when they come straight out of the oven they are slightly crispy on the outside, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made these for my toddlers but I like them a lot too! I have a lot of baby cereal that the kids will not eat anymore so I was happy to find a good recipe to use it up. These are soft and have a light sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
I made these with oatmeal infant cereal and they turned out great. I spread the batter on the cookie sheet to make bar cookies instead of individual cookies and they are moist and very flavorful. I have lots of cereal to use up since my 10.5 month old refuses to eat it anymore so I will be making quite a few bathces of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
Super recipie! I used oatmeal infant cereal and substituted mashed banana for the applesauce. The were so good I made a second batch and sent them in to my daughter's preschool for snack time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This recipe is GREAT! My 12 month old loves them and they have some nutritional value that is lacking in so many other snacks! I'm tempted to buy more baby cereal so I can make some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States