Elena's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Good job! I made this one with my kids today and we all loved it. A few alterations turned out to make a delicious and healthy (relatively speaking) cookie. I doubled the recipe (I have 4 kids and a vacuum for a husband). I substituted half whole wheat flour with the all purp, and reduced the butter to 1c. I, also reduced the brown sugar by 1/2, and they were still pretty sweet. Next time I'll probably reduce the white sugar, too. Oh, it really helped to chill this dough before baking, too! I definitly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
I made these with oatmeal infant cereal and they turned out great. I spread the batter on the cookie sheet to make bar cookies instead of individual cookies and they are moist and very flavorful. I have lots of cereal to use up since my 10.5 month old refuses to eat it anymore so I will be making quite a few bathces of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This recipe is GREAT! My 12 month old loves them and they have some nutritional value that is lacking in so many other snacks! I'm tempted to buy more baby cereal so I can make some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I'm giving it 4 stars but only because I made changes...the end result was definately worth a 5. I used 1 cup whole old-fashioned oats instead of baby cereal, I used 2 bananas instead of applesauce, added only 1 stick of organic butter, and I added an extra 1/4 cup flour. It still seemed to thin so I placed the dough in my mini-muffin cups. PERFECT!! My kids gobbled them up - begged for more. I think this is as "healthy" as a great tasting cookie can get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I made these but used acontainer of sugar free blueberry applesauce. Since I didn't have the cereal, I used about 4-5 packages of blueberry instant oatmeal. They turned out delicious... Great and hearty but also sweet and blueberry! One note, if you make the switch to oatmeal, make sure you use enough or they will turn out pancakey. (look for a normal "dough" consistency). Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I didn't change a thing, and they turned out wonderful - soft, not overly sweet, vanilla-nutty flavor. Thank you Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
These were so moist that they were hard to get off of the cookies sheet. I even added more flour to the recipe. I like the ingredients, and the taste is fine. But if stacked they stick together, and I had to throw out the first batch because they would not come off the pan without becoming a lump of mooshed cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
Super recipie! I used oatmeal infant cereal and substituted mashed banana for the applesauce. The were so good I made a second batch and sent them in to my daughter's preschool for snack time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I really liked these. I made them for my daughter (18 mos) and she didn't really like them (she doesn't eat much though). But I did. They were soft and cake-like and when they come straight out of the oven they are slightly crispy on the outside, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I had plenty of leftover infant cereal to use up, and these cookies were very good. They do come out a bit moist, but when they're cooled they taste just fine. Even got the toddlers to eat them great. Not too sweet for me, but if you like sweet cookies, add a bit more sugar or applesauce to sweeten 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States