Elegant Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
My husband declared it his "new favorite" soup. It was easy to make and very good. My three year old had two helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This soup was like something you would get in a good restaurant. I didn't know how it would be without any spices, but it had just the right flavor. Even my picky eater really liked it. The only thing I did different was I used 4 cups of broth and it was still pretty thick. I definately will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Steilacoom, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
very very good soup! I have used this recipe to make a vegetarian version too.. 5 cups vegetable broth instead of chicken and added diced shitake mushrooms with the onions to saute and omitted the ham. Fabulous soup either way and it has great presentation. Thanks! PS...I think 1/4 cup of flour is plenty! It is way too thick with 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
We loved this!! The first time I made this, I made it as directed and it was great but I thought it was just a little too rich and thick. So the next time, I made a few changes. I cooked up a box of long grain and wild rice mix from the store. I added the whole thing (about 2 1/2c.) to the soup. I also decreased the flour to 1/3c., so it wasn't so thick. I also used skim milk instead of the half and half. It turned out great! MY husband usually doesn't give anything a five star but this he said definitely was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Excellent soup! It reminds me of the soup from a certain upscale Minnesota grocery chain. It did need extra chicken broth to thin it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
My whole family loved this soup. I did add 1 more cup of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Excellent recipe. Tried it for my family and I'm going to serve it on Thanksgiving. I added some sauted mushrooms but fine without. Delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Very good! I made a few small changes and it turned out wonderful. I added 4 cups of broth instead of 3 to make it a bit less thick. I also added cooked chicken instead of the ham and it was a definite thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I added mushrooms sauteed in a little butter (and left out the whole amount), used less flour and more broth, and left out the ham...what a great vegetarian soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Used phesant instead of ham and added portabella mushrooms. Good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molson13

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States