Elegant Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
We loved this!! The first time I made this, I made it as directed and it was great but I thought it was just a little too rich and thick. So the next time, I made a few changes. I cooked up a box of long grain and wild rice mix from the store. I added the whole thing (about 2 1/2c.) to the soup. I also decreased the flour to 1/3c., so it wasn't so thick. I also used skim milk instead of the half and half. It turned out great! MY husband usually doesn't give anything a five star but this he said definitely was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Very good! I made a few small changes and it turned out wonderful. I added 4 cups of broth instead of 3 to make it a bit less thick. I also added cooked chicken instead of the ham and it was a definite thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I didn't add as much flour as other reviewers suggested and added a little extra ham and carrots and skipped the almonds all together since I didn't have any on hand. This was fantastic!!!! I served it for 10 guests and everyone thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Excellent recipe. Tried it for my family and I'm going to serve it on Thanksgiving. I added some sauted mushrooms but fine without. Delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Doubled the recipe and added a bit of celery with the onion. Also did 4 cups of broth vs. 3 and this was a great wild rice soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I just had this soup for dinner and it was excellent! I did use a box of long grain and wild rice and followed the box directions for that. So that was 2 cups of rice, I didn't have any ham so the extra rice made up for the missing ham. The only other changes I made were that I used only 4 tablespoons butter and 2% milk instead of half & half. It turned out great! It really was very delicious and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This soup was like something you would get in a good restaurant. I didn't know how it would be without any spices, but it had just the right flavor. Even my picky eater really liked it. The only thing I did different was I used 4 cups of broth and it was still pretty thick. I definately will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Steilacoom, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Used phesant instead of ham and added portabella mushrooms. Good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molson13

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Excellent soup! It reminds me of the soup from a certain upscale Minnesota grocery chain. It did need extra chicken broth to thin it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
My husband declared it his "new favorite" soup. It was easy to make and very good. My three year old had two helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States