Elegant Stuffed Chicken and Asparagus Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this for Christmas dinner for a party of 16, and it turned out beautifully! I was able to prepare it several hours ahead of time, and baked it while we opened gifts. I used 10 large chicken breasts, and made the stuffing with a bag of Pepperidge Farm herb stuffing mix, an 8 oz package of fresh mushrooms, 4-5 large garlic cloves, 1/2 large red onion, and 5-6 carrots and celery stalks (I omitted the parmesan cheese). I simmered the vegetables with a little chicken broth for a few minutes before adding them to the dry stuffing, and moistened the stuffing with a little chicken broth as well. Any extra stuffing was used to pack around the chicken. I took others' advice and covered the pans with foil most of the cooking time. To serve, I sliced the breasts in the baking dish. It was moist and delicious, everyone complimented me on it. I looked like a genius, but it was so easy and I wasn't stuck in the kitchen! I will definitely make this again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
The stuffed chicken was amazing. Next time I will use the correct amount of cornbread, and just pack it in the pan around the chicken breasts. (It was SO good!) I used really thick-sliced bacon, and it never did really crisp, even after 2 minutes in the microwave. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmyG
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This recipe worked out just great! At first I thought the taste might be a birt boring, but then in the end it was really tasty. A really nice warm in your belly evening meal. I followed the recipe quite close, just scaling down on the stuffing ingredients and using a box of stuffing instead of cornbread. I served with just steamed veggies, but did cut the chicken as suggested, and made a gravy with the drippings. (Add chicken stock and/or liquid chicken oxo to the bottom of the dish to get drippings for gravy) Just great! Do try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly with the exception of using Pepperidge Farm herb stuffing mix instead of cornbread. (In my mind, cornbread and parmesan don't go together) As another member recommended, I made a gravy from the pan drippings, and I'm glad I did...it was a little on the dry side. (Maybe cover it w/tinfoil while it cooks?) The bacon wrapped asparagus was a HUGE hit!! For me though, it took almost twice the time to get the bacon crisp even after turning it over once...maybe ovens vary. But as the recipe title states, it absolutely is an elegant looking meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This recipe was delicious. (I didn't make the asparagus though - just the chicken.) The stuffing was very tasty, a nice mix of savory and a little sweet from the cornbread addition. I did have more than enough stuffing for 2 breasts though. This is definitely a dish that it suitable for dinner guests but it's a nice everyday dish too. Adjustments I made : I put the veggies in a food processor before cooking as I didn't want any large chunks of veggies. I also added a little fresh tarragon to the stuffing and I put a small amount of chicken broth in the bottom of the baking dish for basting. (can use this to make gravy too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanineyBeaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was a very good meal! It did lend itself to a very chic & elegant presentation. And, I thought, pretty easy to make. The single most time consuming thing was peeling the lower half of the asparagus stalks so they cook up nice and tender.(I learned that technique from Julia Child & "Lessons with Master Chefs") I tripled the recipe, making 6 large stuffed chicken breasts, and 10 or 12 asparagus/bacon bundles. The stuffing mixture seemed to make LOT of stuffing, I will adjust some amounts downward next time. Oh, I used Stovetop stuffing mix with a little chiken broth instead of cornbread in the stuffing. Other than that, I followed the recipe. The chicken breasts were dee-licious! The veggie stuffing was very moist and flavorful, and the chicken was very moist and tender. All dinner guests agreed this recipe was a keeper! The baked asparagus was not too bad, well pretty good actually, but the tips of the asparagus got a bit dried out and scorched in the baking process. The bacon was a yummy addition though. I had thick asparagus stalks, so I only wrapped two or three stalks in each bundle. I had leftovers from this meal, both chicken and asparagus, and they were quite delicious the next day warmed up in the microwave for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flying chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Very good! I had chicken tenders instead of chicken breasts, so I layered instead of stuffed the chicken and I didn't have the mushrooms, but made no other changes. My only complaint? My husband wasn't a fan of the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I'm not a fan of the taste mixture. It didn't seem to blend well. Too much work for the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mybabiesmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mapleton, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This was delicious! I did take the easy way and used a packaged cornbread stuffing and added the cheese. It looked very elegant on the serving platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Used ¼ cup shredded parmesan & ¼ cup grated parmesan (for 2 servings). Served with steamed broccoli & Pasta Roni Butter Roni Italian noodles. Fiance thought a gravy of some sort would really compliment this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States