Elegant Stroganoff Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe! I do make it a bit easier though by using golden mushroom soup and cream cheese for the sauce but other than that I make the meatballs as recipe calls for. Sometimes the sirloin steak in other stroganoff recipes is not as tender [even with marinating] as I like so the meatball recipe is perfect for fixing that problem. Thank you so much for this recipe...family absolutely loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This recipe was easy quick and delish! My family of 5 all loved it and requested it again. I used low sodium broth as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I used Butterball Turkey Meatballs for this, and it was absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Perfect, well the sauce is perfect for us (I used frozen meatballs). This is just what I am looking for in a sauce. I'll try the meatballs when life isn't so hectic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Maybe I did something wrong, but I thought there was way too much sour cream in this sauce. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I consider myself a very excellent cook and baker. It is one of my hobbies. BUT this was a complete disaster. My husband told me to throw away the recipe AND the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Myers
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I halved the recipe and added 3 cloves of minced garlic. I also omitted the seasoning salt in the meatballs as recommended by many other reviews. I also used 6 oz of fresh sliced mushroom. While this recipe has the taste of a typical hamburger stroganoff, I found it didn't own the depth of flavors that my favorite stroganoff by Ken in CA created. That being said, it proves to be "kid friendly". I also didn't care for the onions and mushrooms texture since they weren't sauteed first. The onions were still a bit crunchy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
For the meatballs, I used day-old whole wheat bread and omitted the Maggi seasoning (only because I didn't have it). For the "gravy", I didn't have bouillion granules so I used Campbell's beef broth and I added a mess of fresh garlic as well as fresh baby bella mushrooms instead of canned and I sauteed them with the onions with a little butter before I added the gravy ingredients. The meatballs turned out tender and juicy, which we all agreed was very nice. I'm glad I omitted the Maggi seasoning because I think if I hadn't, this dish would have been way too salty. I think the addition of the full cup of cornstarch was overkill. Next time I make this, I'll cut it back to a tablespoon or so. The gravy was way too thick. Using condensed cream of mushroom soup is a great thickener, all that cornstarch is unnecessary. My husband and I also thought there was a little too much sour cream. I think cut it in half and it would be just right. I think using fresh ingredients and canned beef broth was a great step for this dish. Like I said, if I hadn't had to make a last minute substitution, it would have been WAY too salty. I'll make this again, with my changes. NOTE: I stand by my review only because I think had I not made the changes I did, it would not have been edible. You can sub low-sodium products when necessary but this recipe is full of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Good but a little salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States