Elegant Pork Loin Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I should have paid attention to the comments and planned to cook the meat for less than 3 hours. It was overcooked already (150 degrees) when I checked an hour and 45 minutes in. You're supposed to take it out at 140-145 degrees and let it rest for 10 minutes. I was roasting two 4-lb loins. I made a few modifications: used grape juice instead of wine because I didn't feel like opening a bottle just for this, omitted the brown sugar altogether, and used half apple cider vinegar and half apple juice. Next time I will add onions. I didn't love the cloves in the sauce but everyone else loved it. The prunes and apricots go great with the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I was skeptical about mixing pork with prunes, but this dish was amazing! No leftovers and requests to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
My whole family loved this!! I had a smaller roast and used a thermometer, cooking until it read 143°, (about 70 minutes at 350°) then letting it rest covered with foil for 15 minutes. PERFECT! I used Sun-Maid dried mixed fruit and doubled the recipe. I didn't have any wine, so I substituted apple juice and chicken broth instead. Loved the spicy- sweet flavor the fruit and cloves gave!! YUM!! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I made this recipe for Easter dinner, I used two 3 lb. pork tenderloins and cooked for 1 1/2 at 350. I used apple juice instead of the wine and basted every 15 minutes. Everyone loved it! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Made this exactly as directed and it was wonderful! Everyone raved about it. Wouldn't change a thing. Will definitely make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GPhiBQT
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
The pork roast was very good. Marinating it with the apple juice made it nice and moist. The sauce was good, but a little sweet. I might use less brown sugar, and use apricot preserves instead of dry apricots. I might chop up the prunes in the chopper a bit too! Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GPhiBQT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Noone seemed to like. They definately didn't like the prune sauce and the mustard dressing was questionable. With some changes, it may not be too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I followed the directions exactly. The pork was very bland and the gravy tasted exactly like prune baby food. I think I may have added a little too much corn starch because the gravy also had the consistency of baby food. As others have stated, this is a very sweet tasting dish. I think if I make it again, I will marinate the roast first and use less apple juice and fruit. I have noticed that a few reviews stated that they had very little pan juices. I think they may be using pork tenderloin instead of a regular pork loin. I leave the fat on the loin and then trim it off while eating. The fat gives extra drippings and helps keep the roast moist while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Great dish! Pretty difficult to mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
AWESOME! I usually crockpot cook my pork loins, but this looked too tempting. It turned out wonderfully. I subbed apples and dried cherries for the apricots and prunes and white for red wine since that is what I had on hand, and it seemed to be very well liked by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States