Elegant Pork Loin Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I was skeptical about mixing pork with prunes, but this dish was amazing! No leftovers and requests to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
My whole family loved this!! I had a smaller roast and used a thermometer, cooking until it read 143°, (about 70 minutes at 350°) then letting it rest covered with foil for 15 minutes. PERFECT! I used Sun-Maid dried mixed fruit and doubled the recipe. I didn't have any wine, so I substituted apple juice and chicken broth instead. Loved the spicy- sweet flavor the fruit and cloves gave!! YUM!! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I made this recipe for Easter dinner, I used two 3 lb. pork tenderloins and cooked for 1 1/2 at 350. I used apple juice instead of the wine and basted every 15 minutes. Everyone loved it! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Made this exactly as directed and it was wonderful! Everyone raved about it. Wouldn't change a thing. Will definitely make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GPhiBQT
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
The pork roast was very good. Marinating it with the apple juice made it nice and moist. The sauce was good, but a little sweet. I might use less brown sugar, and use apricot preserves instead of dry apricots. I might chop up the prunes in the chopper a bit too! Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GPhiBQT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Noone seemed to like. They definately didn't like the prune sauce and the mustard dressing was questionable. With some changes, it may not be too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I followed the directions exactly. The pork was very bland and the gravy tasted exactly like prune baby food. I think I may have added a little too much corn starch because the gravy also had the consistency of baby food. As others have stated, this is a very sweet tasting dish. I think if I make it again, I will marinate the roast first and use less apple juice and fruit. I have noticed that a few reviews stated that they had very little pan juices. I think they may be using pork tenderloin instead of a regular pork loin. I leave the fat on the loin and then trim it off while eating. The fat gives extra drippings and helps keep the roast moist while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Great dish! Pretty difficult to mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
AWESOME! I usually crockpot cook my pork loins, but this looked too tempting. It turned out wonderfully. I subbed apples and dried cherries for the apricots and prunes and white for red wine since that is what I had on hand, and it seemed to be very well liked by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made this for Christmas eve dinner, everyone loved it. I didnt have the left overs I thought I would, so a hit for sure. :) The name suits it, it is very elegant. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States