Elegant Oyster Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
Every time I make this stew it's gone in no time at all. There are never any leftovers. This is my mother-in-law's recipe. I'm realy glad she shared it with everyone in the family. I hope everyone will enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Fantastic! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I cannot say enough about this recipe...it was FANTASTIC! Rave reviews from everyone--my sister in law, who does't like oysters, went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltair4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This was the best oyster stew I've ever had! It is definitely not bland; nor are the spices overpowering as I thought they might be. I suspect that if I were to have followed the recipe exactly the soup would have been just as good, if not better. However, I did have to make the following substitutions: - 2 cans (8oz) whole oysters (use 1/2 liquid from the cans) instead of fresh - One 15 oz can asparagus (drained) instead of artichoke hearts - 1/2 cup half and half and 1/2 cup skim milk instead of 1 cup heavy cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Wonderful recipe - best oyster soup I've ever had! I had to use canned oysters & juice, and it was still delicious. I'm sure it's even better with fresh. I substituted half & half for the heavy cream, and will probably try to reduce the butter next time, just to lighten it up. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This is very good. Bursting with flavor (it has a great spiciness), but not too overwhelming. I followed the recipe exactly but used one 8 ounce can of whole oysters. I bought the cheapest can of oysters at the store, but will not do that again - the oysters were kind of icky. Next time will buy a more expensive can of oysters in hopes that they'll be better quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
My family and I are positively giddy after having this for our Christmas Eve supper! Other than substituting diced potatoes for mushrooms, I followed the recipe precisely. It was perfect! Thank you for posting. UPDATE: 5th Christmas Eve in a row....and I used the mushrooms instead of potatoes...better than remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Photo by RanchersDaughter
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
You cannot put into words how delicious this recipe is! I will always have these ingredients on hand and will serve for all my social functions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RanchersDaughter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hereford, Texas, USA
Living In: Rocksprings, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This soup was excellent. I had been searching for an oyster stew/soup for a while and this reciepe by far exceeded my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grifton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Just made this soup. Made the following substitutions in the recipe: Can chopped asparagus instead of artichoke hearts, half and half instead of heavy cream, margarine instead of butter and I added four diced potatoes (cooked). Good Grief this was good stuff. Recommend making a double batch on your first try. A keeper for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States