Elegant Oyster Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
My family and I are positively giddy after having this for our Christmas Eve supper! Other than substituting diced potatoes for mushrooms, I followed the recipe precisely. It was perfect! Thank you for posting. UPDATE: 5th Christmas Eve in a row....and I used the mushrooms instead of potatoes...better than remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
Every time I make this stew it's gone in no time at all. There are never any leftovers. This is my mother-in-law's recipe. I'm realy glad she shared it with everyone in the family. I hope everyone will enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Fantastic! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I cannot say enough about this recipe...it was FANTASTIC! Rave reviews from everyone--my sister in law, who does't like oysters, went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltair4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This was the best oyster stew I've ever had! It is definitely not bland; nor are the spices overpowering as I thought they might be. I suspect that if I were to have followed the recipe exactly the soup would have been just as good, if not better. However, I did have to make the following substitutions: - 2 cans (8oz) whole oysters (use 1/2 liquid from the cans) instead of fresh - One 15 oz can asparagus (drained) instead of artichoke hearts - 1/2 cup half and half and 1/2 cup skim milk instead of 1 cup heavy cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Wonderful recipe - best oyster soup I've ever had! I had to use canned oysters & juice, and it was still delicious. I'm sure it's even better with fresh. I substituted half & half for the heavy cream, and will probably try to reduce the butter next time, just to lighten it up. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This is very good. Bursting with flavor (it has a great spiciness), but not too overwhelming. I followed the recipe exactly but used one 8 ounce can of whole oysters. I bought the cheapest can of oysters at the store, but will not do that again - the oysters were kind of icky. Next time will buy a more expensive can of oysters in hopes that they'll be better quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RanchersDaughter
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
You cannot put into words how delicious this recipe is! I will always have these ingredients on hand and will serve for all my social functions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RanchersDaughter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hereford, Texas, USA
Living In: Rocksprings, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This soup was excellent. I had been searching for an oyster stew/soup for a while and this reciepe by far exceeded my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grifton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Just made this soup. Made the following substitutions in the recipe: Can chopped asparagus instead of artichoke hearts, half and half instead of heavy cream, margarine instead of butter and I added four diced potatoes (cooked). Good Grief this was good stuff. Recommend making a double batch on your first try. A keeper for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States