Elegant Oyster Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly. I can't give it 5 stars as written. The flavor is very good but it was not filling or hearty. The second time I made it I used triple the amount of oysters (fresh), doubled the onion and celery and used 8 oz. of sliced baby bella mushrooms. Much improved!!! We like our soups to be a main dish and these additions brought it up to that level without adding a whole lot of calories. I might try adding a cup of cubed potato next time to give it even more body. The flavor was there with the basic recipe and as is, would be a nice first course at a special dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Just made this soup. Made the following substitutions in the recipe: Can chopped asparagus instead of artichoke hearts, half and half instead of heavy cream, margarine instead of butter and I added four diced potatoes (cooked). Good Grief this was good stuff. Recommend making a double batch on your first try. A keeper for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
this is AMAZING!!! i don't seem to be able to stop eating this...! the only thing is that the artichoke doesn't quite fit in here... i love artichoke, but it taste weird in this soup. i'll leave it out next time. i added a couple red potatoes (sautéed with the rest of the veggies) and corn kernel (frozen. added when i added the veggies to the liquid). i think both fit really well with this soup. used veggie broth instead of chicken, fresh sage instead of dry, fat free 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream. worked out fine. i also used more oysters than called for since i love oysters. my tip is don't put all the oysters in the soup if you know you're not gonna finish the whole pot. add as many as you think you'll eat in one setting, save the rest and add them (again, only as many as you can eat at once) when you reheat the soup, so that you won't end up having gross chewy oysters that's been reheated 3 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This soup was very easy to make and relied on easy-to-find ingredients. (I used 2-8 oz. cans of oysters w/ juices in lieu of fresh.) The result is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
Every time I make this stew it's gone in no time at all. There are never any leftovers. This is my mother-in-law's recipe. I'm realy glad she shared it with everyone in the family. I hope everyone will enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was excellent. I wanted to make half the recipe and did not want to open a second can of chicken broth for just 2 ounces so I used 1 can broth and 3/4 cup cream. For half the recipe I used an 8 ounce jar oysters and would have liked more. Next time I will use 12 ounces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe and I'll probably make it again for Christmas. To lighten it a bit, I halved the butter used and also used half evaporated milk and half cream. I added a little white wine and paprika as well. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I cannot say enough about this recipe...it was FANTASTIC! Rave reviews from everyone--my sister in law, who does't like oysters, went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltair4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Fantastic! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RanchersDaughter
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
You cannot put into words how delicious this recipe is! I will always have these ingredients on hand and will serve for all my social functions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RanchersDaughter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hereford, Texas, USA
Living In: Rocksprings, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States