Elegant Oyster Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Fantastic. My husband made this for our New Year's dinner and we couldn't get enough. Now he wants it for his birthday dinner, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was excellent. I wanted to make half the recipe and did not want to open a second can of chicken broth for just 2 ounces so I used 1 can broth and 3/4 cup cream. For half the recipe I used an 8 ounce jar oysters and would have liked more. Next time I will use 12 ounces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I wish I could give this soup more stars. Excellent! I did omit mushrooms - simply don't care for them. I combined 1/2 Cup flour w/1 Cup milk in a gravy shaker. Increased chicken broth to 6 Cups, brought chicken broth and 1/2 Cup butter to boil, and stirred in gravey thickener. Add veggies and spices, simmer for 30 minutes then added oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd Berg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was by far the best oyster stew I have ever eaten. It wasn't hard to make and the taste was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola Mills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
donuthole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
We used the oyster liquor in lieu of the chicken broth, and shallots in lieu of the onions. The carrots we omitted. More spices were added, otherwise it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Although I prefer my regular and simple oyster stew this was very tasty for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I made this for my mother for her birthday because she and my father love oysters so much. I don't really care for oysters but decided to try this. The soup was very tasty and creamy. Its a lovely soup as well. It has a small kick to it too, which we all liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe and I'll probably make it again for Christmas. To lighten it a bit, I halved the butter used and also used half evaporated milk and half cream. I added a little white wine and paprika as well. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Definitely do what the other reviewer said--make a double batch!! I never eat leftover seafood (ugh! Usually turns too fishy for me.), but this delicious soup tasted even better the next day. Definite keeper. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States