Elegant Oyster Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
very good. followed recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
My husband made this on Valentines as a before dinner appetizer. it was Great. the neighbor even came over and tasted it. She love it too. To make it easier we just added 2 (8oz.cans of whole cooked oysters)easy to find. just by the tuna. L. J.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This is identical to the recipe I have for Cream of Artichoke soup. If you omit the oysters and oyster juice, it becomes a phenominal artichoke soup. The recipe receives compliments like crazy every time I make it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I love this soup! Smooth taste, creamy and so quickly done! No need to buy a precooked soup at the store. Only thing you might have to go and buy quick is a glass of oysters (if you do not find fresh ones!). I used oysters in a glass, made my chickenstock with the Knorr Chicken Flavor Bouillon (Caldo de Pollo) granulated and a glass marinated artichoke hearts. So good. Buy a french long bread and surprise your big love or family with this easy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
A CROWD PLEASER!!! Oyster Soup has always been a Chrismas Eve tradition in our family. The family member who prepared it is no longer with us, so this year I was placed "in charge" of the oyster soup. I had no recipe and no idea what I was doing. EVERYONE (from our 4 year old and up) loved it! It has cream but is not too rich which was an important component for us. The flavors are delicious. However, I did scale back on the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I also add 2 cups potatoes, finely chopped. This is one of the best tasting oyster recipes I have ever tried. It is well worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was outstanding! So tasty and very easy to make. I didn't change anything. My husband loved it as part of our Valentine's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly. I can't give it 5 stars as written. The flavor is very good but it was not filling or hearty. The second time I made it I used triple the amount of oysters (fresh), doubled the onion and celery and used 8 oz. of sliced baby bella mushrooms. Much improved!!! We like our soups to be a main dish and these additions brought it up to that level without adding a whole lot of calories. I might try adding a cup of cubed potato next time to give it even more body. The flavor was there with the basic recipe and as is, would be a nice first course at a special dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This soup was very easy to make and relied on easy-to-find ingredients. (I used 2-8 oz. cans of oysters w/ juices in lieu of fresh.) The result is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Fantastic. My husband made this for our New Year's dinner and we couldn't get enough. Now he wants it for his birthday dinner, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States