Elegant Oyster Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This is a FANTASTIC recipe!! I love regular Oyster Stew using milk/cream, butter and oysters, but decided to give this w try, YAY! I used my mini food processor to chop all the veggies uniformly& that cut the prep time drastically! I used a combo of veggie & chicken broth and a bottle of clam juice I had in the cabinet to add a lil more flavor and used the oyster juices as well. I doubled the recipe & omitted the cayenne bc my toddler but otherwise followed everything exactly, Oh I did only use 2-6oz cans of artichokes (and should have chopped them better). I highly suggest trying this, it is wonderful, the sage is very complimentary to the oyster flavor, this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
We have made this for the last few years at Christmas. It is delicious. It would also be good with no oysters for vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
My husband made this for my parents Sat Oct 30, must admit came out really good, he said next time he makes it, he will use smaller oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christaann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Of Spain, Port-Of-Spain, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
My family loves oyster stew, but no one liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
this is SO SUPER DELICIOUS!!! Try it - you'll LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Make this a day before you eat it. Although it was better tasting the next day...there were still too many flavors going on in here....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaretc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was pretty good. I did not have the artichoke hearts, but based on some reviews, they were better left out. I doubled the celery, mushrooms, and onion. At the end, I tasted the soup and it tasted fairly generic, like canned soup, so I added about a cup of white wine, a few extra shakes of cayenne and hot sauce, and some paprika. The extra spice and wine gave the soup a more polished taste. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PTMUGUCA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
very good soup i am only giving it a 4 star do to i thought it really needed alot more veggies, i added a red potato diced i cooked it in the micro wave first to soften it up before add it to the carrots,onions, and celery, i didnt use mushrooms as as i didnt think they belongs or the artichoke i used old bay seasoning along with thyme, salt and pepper and Cayenne. and i used half and half instead of heavy cream to cut back on the fat. next time i will use a little less butter maybe even use light smart balance in replace of the butter. but it was very good over all will be making it again. even my daughter that is groused out by oysters ate it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Awesome! Who would of ever thought I would like oyster soup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Just made this soup tonight. It's delicious. I used 2 cans of oysters as some reviews suggested. I loved the artichoke hearts in this soup! Next ime I will probably halve the butter. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Schade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States