Elegant Oyster Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is the most incredible soup. You can also turn this into a seafood chowder by adding scallops, shrimp, crab, fresh fish and have also added fresh corn. It has been passed thru the family as a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
To me it was a lot better when I made it the second time with modifications. I didn't add the mushrooms, artichokes, thyme, oregano and sage but added black pepper and a bit of Old Bay. I added leftover mashed potatoes for thickening and left out the flour. I also used half and half in place of the cream and canned oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathrine Ferguson Jenkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ulm, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This is a very easy, very tasty soup. When I made it I cut way back on the amount of butter and I used half and half instead of cream, I also doubled up on the carrots, celery and onion. Replaced the fresh mushrooms with canned and canned oysters instead of shucked. If I make it again I'll use 2 cans of oysters rather than 3 I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Fantastic, I will be making again with a potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Absolutely delicious! It is very flavorful and filling. I used half and half instead of heavy cream and used asparagus instead of artichokes. Thank you so much for sharing, DSPROUT! This will definitely be made over again in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Made this recipe exactly the way it was shown. It was awesome!!! Flavor was exceptional, and it was very easy. Will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
We made this for Valentine's day dinner and it was delicious. To lighten it up, we used fat free evaporated milk instead of the heavy cream. It has a wonderful flavor. We will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was absolutely wonderful! The flavors blended so well together and the cayenne pepper gives it a nice little kick. The added bonus is that it made the house smell great and it drove my husband nuts! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was really good! We followed the recipe as stated and added bok choy at the end for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaori Thier

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is an impressive dish and tasty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States