Elegant Oyster Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
To me it was a lot better when I made it the second time with modifications. I didn't add the mushrooms, artichokes, thyme, oregano and sage but added black pepper and a bit of Old Bay. I added leftover mashed potatoes for thickening and left out the flour. I also used half and half in place of the cream and canned oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathrine Ferguson Jenkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ulm, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This is a very easy, very tasty soup. When I made it I cut way back on the amount of butter and I used half and half instead of cream, I also doubled up on the carrots, celery and onion. Replaced the fresh mushrooms with canned and canned oysters instead of shucked. If I make it again I'll use 2 cans of oysters rather than 3 I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Fantastic, I will be making again with a potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Absolutely delicious! It is very flavorful and filling. I used half and half instead of heavy cream and used asparagus instead of artichokes. Thank you so much for sharing, DSPROUT! This will definitely be made over again in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Made this recipe exactly the way it was shown. It was awesome!!! Flavor was exceptional, and it was very easy. Will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
We made this for Valentine's day dinner and it was delicious. To lighten it up, we used fat free evaporated milk instead of the heavy cream. It has a wonderful flavor. We will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was absolutely wonderful! The flavors blended so well together and the cayenne pepper gives it a nice little kick. The added bonus is that it made the house smell great and it drove my husband nuts! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was really good! We followed the recipe as stated and added bok choy at the end for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaori Thier

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is an impressive dish and tasty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This is a FANTASTIC recipe!! I love regular Oyster Stew using milk/cream, butter and oysters, but decided to give this w try, YAY! I used my mini food processor to chop all the veggies uniformly& that cut the prep time drastically! I used a combo of veggie & chicken broth and a bottle of clam juice I had in the cabinet to add a lil more flavor and used the oyster juices as well. I doubled the recipe & omitted the cayenne bc my toddler but otherwise followed everything exactly, Oh I did only use 2-6oz cans of artichokes (and should have chopped them better). I highly suggest trying this, it is wonderful, the sage is very complimentary to the oyster flavor, this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States