Elegant Orzo with Wilted Spinach and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I thought this was wonderful. It was very tasty and fun to make. My advice to anyone who makes it, make sure you use balsamic vinegar at the end (it's not optional!), otherwise this will be a very bland dish. I skipped over the balsamic vinegar for the first bite, thought it was boring, then added it in and it transformed the dish and rocketed it from 3 stars to 5. This also tastes great with baked zucchini chips on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was a hit and a miss in our house. I liked the idea of the feta, but not hubs, so I unfortunately had to leave it out. I loved the little spark the red pepper flakes added, but it was a little too hot for hubby's sensitive innards, so be careful with children or those who can't tolerate any "heat." And I didn't even use as much as the recipe called for! Because this is such a fresh and colorful dish I thought it would be better suited with fresh basil, and I used halved grape tomatoes for additional color and texture. I went heavier on the garlic, about one clove for the recipe scaled to two servings. I served this with a rather robust chicken dish so the fact this was light on any additional spices or herbs made this the perfect accompaniment. I think what I like best about this is that it's just so darn pretty on the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Very good. I tried this recipe to use up some extra pine nuts and I wasn't just pleasantly surprised, I was astonished how good it was. The cheese adds a delicious creaminess; the tomatoes provide a refreshing tang; the pine nuts give a wonderful fragrance; the orzo and wilted spinach in spices serve as a nice base. And it's quite pretty.One nice feature of the recipe is that the main ingredients are prepared separately so each person can mix them to his or her own preference. (I like more spinach (50% more) and much more tomatoes (100% more) and less cheese (33% less).) Some changes: I used half the olive oil and 2/3rds the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
Elegant is right! Really easy to make and it tasted gourmet! I had tomato/basil feta which was excellent on top. I might toss in a few sundried tomatoes next time. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WebsByMegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I've made this about six times now and I find myself looking forward to it each time. Other reviewers are correct, don't skimp on the spinach and cut the oil. Great for a summer side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Absolutely first rate! Follow other reviewers advice and cut way back on the fats - 2 tablespoons of olive oil and no butter. Also didn't add any tomato because they're so disgusting this time of year. Made far more than we could eat in one meal, so I stirred in some quartered artichoke hearts and balsamic vinaigrette salad dressing, and had a delicious pasta salad! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
This recipe was great! Only additions were capers, sundried tomatoes and black olives! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Mill Creek, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I'm in the "just okay" camp. Definitely needs some more zip. After the pine nuts and spinach are sauteed, my reaction was "That's a lot of oil to pour over the orzo." But, it works out fine. The problem is that it IS too bland. I'd lower the olive oil next time and replace it with red wine vinegar, tsp. of salt and 1/2 red onion. Looks pretty...has great potential...but B-L-A-H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This recipe was great. I didn't have any orzo on hand, so substituted it with Basmati rice and it worked out wonderfully. This was a great way to sneak in some spinach without any complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myla
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This is a good recipe. In my opinion you need more seasoning. I make another orzo pasta which is much better. The only changes I made were reducing the olive oil way down. I did add more garlic. I will make this again but use more garlic, red chili flakes, add salt and pepper, maybe add red onion. I may try balsamic vinegar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States