Elegant Orzo with Wilted Spinach and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Really good. We will have this often. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi McKinley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I liked it, a very good light dinner. I only made half the recipe, and used about 8 of the 10 oz of spinach I will use all of it next time. I did not have any balsamic vinegar so I used balsamic vinaigrette instead. I used more tomato then was called for and just stirred it in along with the cheese. This was easy and quick, good for when you don't feel much like cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Excellent! I did not have pine nuts so I used unsalted sunflower seeds and sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I thought this was a very good main dish. My wife is a vegetarian and I am always looking for good dishes. I thought the fat content was a little high when looking at the facts, but the dish seemed light and fluffy when finished. I would not skip the vinegar or feta because I think it add great flavor. Next time I make this dish I might cut the olive oil down a bit and add some red onions. Overall this was a great find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
With the exception of reducing the amount of oil & butter,as others suggested, I made this recipe as stated. Though it is a pleasant looking dish, it was severely lacking in the taste department. I served it slightly warm. Today I tested the left-overs - cold. It tasted horrible cold. Spinach took on a weird flavor. Individally, I love all the ingrediants and thought that I would love this dish especially with so many 5 stars reviews. I was very dissappointed especially with the cost of feta & pinenuts. Thank goodness I served it to my family and not to guests. My recommendation would be to a test run before you consider preparing it for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sockmonkey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Great served with Italian Pork Chops, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Wonderful!!! My family & I already know from prior recipes we don't care 4 pine nuts in our food,so I didn't use them. But followed everything else & it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was a hit and a miss in our house. I liked the idea of the feta, but not hubs, so I unfortunately had to leave it out. I loved the little spark the red pepper flakes added, but it was a little too hot for hubby's sensitive innards, so be careful with children or those who can't tolerate any "heat." And I didn't even use as much as the recipe called for! Because this is such a fresh and colorful dish I thought it would be better suited with fresh basil, and I used halved grape tomatoes for additional color and texture. I went heavier on the garlic, about one clove for the recipe scaled to two servings. I served this with a rather robust chicken dish so the fact this was light on any additional spices or herbs made this the perfect accompaniment. I think what I like best about this is that it's just so darn pretty on the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was really easy and quick. It was missing something though, so I added chopped Italian sausage. Really gave the dish a much more substantial flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This dish was outstanding. I did follow some of the other users' advice and cut the oil in half. Next time I will use more spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHATCH77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States