Elegant Orzo with Wilted Spinach and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This dish is probably the best tasting side dish I've ever made, and it's really easy to make and doesn't require a plethora of ingredients. I prefer sundried tomatoes to the regular as it adds that uniquely powerful taste that seems to work so well with the feta. Have always gotten rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I made this for dinner and thought it was a great recipe for summer. I was able to put it together without really measuring the ingredients, since you can eyeball what amount of each item looks like it will taste good to you. I did use only a small coating of olive oil for the pan. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Had this for dinner one night, we loved it. Very pretty on the plate, flavors went very well together. Changed things to suit our tastes and what we had on hand and found recipe very forgiving. Less pine nuts and thought there was still enough, less butter and oil, and thought you could even wilt the spinach in stock or something. Used cherry tomatoes cut up, threw them in with the spinach at the last minute to warm them up, then mixed the feta right in with all of it, which made it so creamy. We did find the balsamic helped give it some zip, but it still needed a little more salt and pepper. I would like almost double the spinach tho. Thanks for sharing, we will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I'm only giving this a 3 because I feel it needs alot of tweaking. Like others have stated, it is very bland. I halved the oil but left the butter the same. I felt it would have been way too oily. I increased the garlic ALOT. 1/2 tspn of minced garlic didn't seem like enough to me. I also felt that the tomato added nothing to the dish. Maybe it was just my tomato :) I used more than 10 ounces of spinach because I had it and I didn't want to waste it. I will make this again but I will take other reviewers suggestions and add wine and maybe some red onion. It is an absolutely beautiful dish. For guests and presentation purposes this could be served in hollowed out tomatoes. I added some chopped parsley too because I looove parsley. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This is my family's favorite side dish! I usually throw everything together at the end and mix it in a big bowl. Absolutely love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
We enjoyed this. It's not a strong flavored dish, but very nice and light. I can't wait to try this tomorrow cold for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Completely amazing. I used goat cheese instead of feta, and it was unbelievable, both warm and cold. Can only recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I used less olive oil, 1/2 the pine nuts (because I only bought one bag), 1/2 the crushed red pepper, and twice the balsamic vinegar and it was delicious. My husband ate it without the tomatoes and still gave it rave reviews. I mixed the balsamic vinegar and feta directly in with the spinach/pasta mixture. Fantastic. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
My husband and I liked this better than the 2 kids. The one kid like it without the balsamic. Nice, easy and tasty. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Terrific recipe! I doubled the garlic and basil and halved the olive oil. I also added 1/2 tsp. salt to the olive oil. I loved the results! The red pepper adds just the right amount of kick and the basalmic vinegar just the right amout of zip. It's a wonderful dish and keeps my love affair with pine nuts alive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States