Elegant Orzo with Wilted Spinach and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Not the best recipe. I don't know why but something was off... the combo of the ingredients just didn't work for me or my husband. Thankfully, a friend or mine recently shared a simpler and tastier orzo recipe... orzo, chopped sundried tomatoes, toasted pine nuts, feta cheese, and basil (all added in portions you prefer... I always add a lot of nuts). Don't worry about oil and salt as the tomatoes provide plenty. I also add fresh cracked black pepper. Trust me, it's great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
My AllRecipes search began with the need to use up a couple of ripe tomatoes and some fresh spinach. Though I made a couple of changes to accommodate ingredients I had on hand, I don’t believe I compromised the dish. It truly is elegant with luscious flavors. I didn't have orzo, so I substituted 8 oz. uncooked very tiny macaroni pasta. Half a cup of olive oil seemed too much, so I halved it and am satisfied with this change. I used 2 medium tomatoes, diced, added to the pan along with the spinach. Because I didn't have feta cheese, I went out on a limb and used Camembert, with rind removed and then grated. This went into the pan at the very end with the Balsamic Honey Vinegar. I will make this again and again, and try the recipe as written next time. But now I know I can improvise if necessary. What a find this is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
this recipe was so simple and AMAZING. i could hardly believe something so simple could taste so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I can't get enough of this. I made it for lunch today and wished for more when I was finished. I made it in smaller proportions since it was just for me and added some tomatoes roasted with olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic, and it was perfection. I prefer this with fresh parmesan rather than the feta. Seems that adding the pine nuts along with the spinach keeps them from toasting a bit too much. So good and so healthy. BTW, I barely wilt my spinach so plenty of nutrients remain, and I love it that way personally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
We loved this. I left out the pine nuts and it was still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was great!! I halved the oil and butter, doubled the spinach, added grape tomatoes before I added the spinach and used spaghetti squash instead of orzo. The vinegar is a must, definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Although this dish looked "elegant", the taste was just average. I feel like it needs to be seasoned more. If i do make this again i will have to add my own lil touch to it. As written, just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I served this with marinated chicken breasts sliced overtop, and I used half as much oil and no butter to try and avoid some fat in this dish (it seemed to be missing something, so it could have been the fat). Everyone in the family liked this even after I altered it, so it is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I think I used too many pine nuts and I think I browned them a little to long. So the dish was a little to pine-nutty. Also, I didn't have enough spinach...but I will make this again with the correct amount of ingredients because it was still good despite all my little blunders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States