Elegant Orzo with Wilted Spinach and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by XXXNAUGHTY
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Oh my God. This is SO GOOD! I was looking for a recipe to use up my leftover orzo and this was it!!! I used frozen spinach and added some lemon juice and sun-dried tomatoes. It even tastes good on its own without the balsamic! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Excellent! I made it ahead, mixed it all together, added the pine nuts and drizzled with balsmic right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I thought this was wonderful. It was very tasty and fun to make. My advice to anyone who makes it, make sure you use balsamic vinegar at the end (it's not optional!), otherwise this will be a very bland dish. I skipped over the balsamic vinegar for the first bite, thought it was boring, then added it in and it transformed the dish and rocketed it from 3 stars to 5. This also tastes great with baked zucchini chips on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This recipe was great. I didn't have any orzo on hand, so substituted it with Basmati rice and it worked out wonderfully. This was a great way to sneak in some spinach without any complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myla
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Very flavorful. Used blue cheese instead of feta. Next time I would double the amount of spinach and reduce the olive oil to about 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This dish was absolutely delicious! The only modification I made was that I used roasted pepper and garlic feta cheese instead of regular feta. I was amazed with the amount of flavor that was in every bite. Makes a great side or a vegetarian main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I'm not a big pasta eater, but as a side this was just incredibly good when served with Chicken Piccata II
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Deelish. I changed this up a bit, by blending some of the ingredients from the carmelized onion and blue cheese orzo recipe from this site. i followed pretty much but I left out the tomatoes and instead of feta I used blue cheese, two heads of fresh spinach and extra garlic. Wonderful with the balsamic and blue cheese together!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
WOW! Served this as a side dish at a family dinner - should have doubled the recipe!!!!!! I've been asked to always bring this dish! I added chicken broth to the orzo when I cooked that (1/2 chicken broth 1/2 filtered water)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edenton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States