Elegant Orzo with Wilted Spinach and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
OH MY! This is so good I can't even tell you!!! I didn't have orzo, so I just used rotini and it turned out absolutely wonderful!!!!! I definitely will be making this again. (I used a way less oil though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McCormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I made this recipe to go with a fish dinner and it was great. I did alter it a bit because the fish had feta cheese and tomatoes in it. I added fresh, sliced mushrooms to the pine nuts before adding the spinach. Once on the plate, I put some of the tomatoes and feta cheese from the fish over the orzo - it made a very nice presentation and the orzo still got the tomato and feta taste as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Not only is this dish delicious, it looks elegant. I brought it to a Christmas party potluck and it was a big hit. Based on the reviews, I cooked the Orzo (al dente) in chix broth. I used a little less EEOV than called for. After lightly browning the pine nuts I added about an 1/8th of a c. of dry white wine, and then only slightly wilted the spinach before tossing the mixture with the orzo. I also added some finely chopped sundried tomatoes in addition to the regular tomato. I sprinkled the balsamic vinegar and the feta (used tomato/basil feta) just before serving. I did not use the full amount of balsamic called for as I was concerned the flavor would be overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Through the roof, wonderful-- even better the next day, either reheated or cold over salad. Just added a bit of extra garlic, since we're garlic nuts in our house! Thank you so much~ this is one recipe I'll use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New York, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This dish is sooooooo yummy! I used less olive oil and it still tasted great! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Each year at the beach, we take turns making dinner for the house, 9 adults & 7 kids. This year I tried this recipe for my meal, even though I never made it before. I did not use tomatoes, but did every else per the directions, it was wonderful and will be making it many more times. It is great to make the risotto shortly before serving and then tossing everything together just before serving. Since it is great hot or at room temperature it is great for large dinner parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Definitely needed more spinach. I also added some shallots and cut back slightly on the red pepper the second time I made this. A good start though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNIVERSALDUDE5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This is delicious!! Everyone liked it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I am telling you, this dish is outstanding! I started making this last summer and it has become my signature dish around town, my friends ask me to bring it to EVERY party, infact im making it for the zillionth time on Saturday. I add the tomatos, feta and balsamic (just a dash, too much overwhelms the dish and changes the flavor) to the orzo all at once, it makes for a beautiful presentation, and absolutley delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I love orzo pasta and I was eager to try this. It was just OK. I only used 1/3 cup of oil, but it was still too much for my liking. Other reviewers are correct...it was bland. Next time, I will add onions, maybe green peppers, and more balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States